My FAVORITE: San Maurizo Church


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
March 14th 2007
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I did not know what I was in store for when I set foot in this GORGEOUS GEM of a church on the busy and very hip Corso Magenta. Every inch of the interior is covered with ornately painted frescos. The brilliance of the color and design is unparalleled by any other church I have ever seen on ANY of my travels.

It was initally built in 1503 and was home to the Benedictine nuns. Because of this, the church is two parts adjoined: one section with the altar for the congregation and then a larger cloistered hall in the back for the nuns. Both parts are equally as incredible. Since my first visit I've been back a couple of times... to relax and unwind in the special space that is San Maurizo. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Noah's arcNoah's arc
Noah's arc

on the wall of the left is the deluge and the aftermatch of the flood on the arc and its inhabitants is on the right wall- AMAZING!
Adam and EveAdam and Eve
Adam and Eve

and the Tree of Life.
SalomeSalome
Salome

When she received the head of John the Baptist on a silver platter. She thought it would ease the pain of her broken heart.
The Last SupperThe Last Supper
The Last Supper

A version of it anyway. and ps- to be able to see DaVinci's original last summer, you need to call at least two months in advance. and the number's ALWAYS busy because there's ONLY ONE for the whole world. I called it about 20x per day my first two weeks, then gave up.
don't remember this story!don't remember this story!
don't remember this story!

sorry! anyone recognize it and wanna help me out?!!
the outside of the churchthe outside of the church
the outside of the church

this may be why half the people from mian have never heard of this... or don\'t know where or what it is. gray and plain on the outside, a gem on the inside!


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb