Parco Sempione and Arco della Pace


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
March 14th 2007
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A monument originally called "The Arch of Victories" was intended as a monument to the victories of Napoleon. When he fell from power in 1814 the arch wasn't yet finished. The Austrian Emperor had it finished, except he changed its name to "The Arch of Peace" in commemoration of the 1815 European Pean Treaty.

Despite the dreary weather, I enjoyed my stroll through this park on the way to the Arch. Well... as soon as I lost the random guy that was following me for about 3 minutes repeating, "ciao bella... bella". ha.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Bridge Bridge
Bridge

in Parco Sempione
me on the stone stepsme on the stone steps
me on the stone steps

note the cool engravings... trumpets and other brass instruments where I'm sitting and different chairs up above. maybe a site for impromptu concerts in the summer?
random archrandom arch
random arch

but beautiful with the green and the blossoms. at the entrance to parco Sempione
NapoleonNapoleon
Napoleon

complex. ha. a statue in Parco Sempione


Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0165s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb