Italian lakes


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Como
June 12th 2013
Published: June 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Drove north to see the Italian lakes, namely Como. It was a hot day 34 degrees outside and about 50 degrees inside the car. With no air-condition, I was pretty hot all day driving in the car.

I had to stop about 3 times as I don't want to overheat the engine. During my first motorway service station stops, I accidentally found that there was little or no transmission fluid (the transmission fluid was replaced about 2 months ago). This was something serious and had to be sorted out immediately. Without examining the car, I can only guess that it could be one of the following:

1. Leak

2. Mechanic failed to re-fill the transmission fluid when the radiator was re-cored about a month ago.



I will see if I can find out what the problem is tomorrow and try and fix it myself first.



The fuel station wanted 15 euros for a litre of ATF (automatic transmission fluid) which I thought was expensive, but luckily, I brought some with me. I poured a litre of the stuff through the dip stick holder and then checked the level before driving to Como.

The car seemed to have passed the heat test today - a good omen for the hot middle-east countries that lies ahead.



Arrived in Como to see the lake but there was no campsite nearby, so the SatNav took me to the nearest campsite which was across the border in Switzerland. This campsite is stunningly beautiful, I have decided to stay 2 nights here.



Went shopping for food on my bicycle, took nearly 2 hours for a return trip. Something I always wanted to do - cycle in Switzerland.



Cooked a simple meal as I was pretty tired by then.



Early night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



12th June 2013

Cool camping
Beautiful scene! Nice sleeping on the roof! Cooool! Enjoy your journey and be safe.

Tot: 0.342s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1147s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb