Funicolare Zecca - Righi


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Liguria » Genoa
February 9th 2021
Published: February 9th 2021
Edit Blog Post

This morning I took the Funicolare Zecca-Righi. This is a funicular railway in Genoa connecting the Largo della Zecca, on the edge of Genoa's historic centre to several stations on the slope of the Righi hill.

After reaching Righi I walked up a hill and found a Planetarium which in plain English is a theatre devoted to education and entertainment in astronomy and space science.

I found some very interesting information and pictures of sightings which have taken place in the Planetarium. My favourite was one taken during the equinox.

I also found some information on a board about the use of water clocks to measure time. I've always been very interested in how different civilizations have measured time. I remember back in primary school when we were doing a really interesting project on the Egyptians and we were learning about the tools the Egyptians had discovered, one of which was a water clock.

When I was 17 I remember writing a poem about time and how civilzations had measured it over time, and I questioned how we can know for sure that time even exists. I think my poem was influenced by Pink Floyd's song Time on the Dark Side of the Moon album, in particular the lyrics below :

'So you run and you run to catch up with the sun but it's sinking
Racing around to come up behind you again
The sun is the same in a relative way but you're older
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death.

I thought about these lyrics when I was at the Planetarium. Then I thought
'I really need some TIME out'


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb