Where's George?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 5th 2014
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 41.909, 12.4778

Woke early this morning ready to take in the sights of Rome. After breakfast in bed at our bed and breakfast we sprinted to the shops, lining up those we want to return to at the end of the trip. Quite a few. We made our way to our hire car depot to make sure all was ok for tomorrow's pick up.

We stumbled upon Harry's Bar, well known for visiting celebrities, particularly in the 60s with Frank Sinatra, Gina Lolabridga. Surely we'd find George there as his wedding to that foreign girl is coming up soon in Lake Como. We scoped the place out but no sighting, although I reckon he was in a private dining room there with Brad for sure.

We ordered our first Aperol Spritz for the trip and sat back and waited...

Nothing.

Time to move on. We discovered the fountain at the base of the Spanish Steps was being restored and then found many disappointed tourists at the Trevi fountain, also being restored. So glad we had seen it on previous visits. G took me to this awesome Sacred site where cats hang out. I couldn't wait, I was so excited. ONE CAT. UNO GATTO. I have one cat at home and I don't make it into the Lonely Planet guide So unfair G.

I was very weary late afternoon so I took a little nap (3 hours). G napped as well but won't admit it, but I noticed she was on page 34 of her book for over an hour. We then got ourselves looking hot and took a walk to Piazza del Poppolo, followed by dinner. Then straight home for some more sleep.

Advertisement



7th September 2014

What a day of disappointment Tan! Must be hard be disappointed in Rome on holidays. Poor thing! My heart breaks for you as I sit here at my desk at work at 7.30 on a Monday morning on a cold, rainy day. X
8th September 2014

You have obviously had a good weekend...... all quiet in the Roman Empire!
8th September 2014

Glad to you see you made it to Roma safely. Enjoy, enjoy e' bocca al lupo! (which literally means to be bitten by the wolf - italian for good luck - medival terminology still used today!) Happy travels look forward to more blogs. I've been
teaching my crew of vegimites italian as well "NO!" and "uno due tre, l'occhii su a me!" Had to growel at a student who asked to borrow a book from my class and as he exited he turned to one and said "drugo" so I blasted him!! - he then lied to his teach who heard me, which of course we discovered during recess to then he apologised whilst I was on duty. Cretino!! Ciao ciao e chin chin!! xx jo xxx
8th September 2014

Come on G! The entire cat-loving Pollitt family are depending on you to seek out these red, white and blue cats....... better lift your game.

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb