Rome....my feet hurt...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 28th 2015
Published: August 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Second visit for me to Rome...I know, I may be slightly well-travelled, trust me there is still a lot to discover, and that includes for me huge parts of Italy. But now that the Euro is finally weaker, Italy makes sense one more time. It is end of July, so I knew the crowds would be around. My aim on this little stop, to finally enter and visit properly the Coliseum, and to get a new suit. I manage to succeed in one of these two aims! No suit this time, I'm too late for the sales on the one I was really looking for....good news for my credit card!



Rome has a huge advantage, the historical center is rather small, so you can walk easily from one site to the next. Well, that means you still end up walking all day long, and a lot...so when you reach the end of the day, my feet were dead...and trust me, I was not the only one, fun to check that I was also surrounded by tourists who suffered too once you reach 5pm.



I didn't want to go around with my big bags, so this time I choose a decent hotel right on the train line from the airport. This allowed me a quick in and quick out of the city, and from there, I was just only 20 minutes by bus from the Coliseum! So yes, I made it finally to the Coliseum as well as the Roman Forum....these two places are simply gorgeous, and were not actually that crowded. I wanted to see the Coliseum at night, but I was way too dead to go back to the city center after a gorgeous pizza! Like this, there is always something to discover forme next time, hopefully not in 15 years this time!



So after the Vatican, I also spent some time at the Pantheon, the Basilica of San Giovanni, the Plaza Navona, the Spanish Steps, all these are simply amazing sites. And then, there was the Fountain of Trevi. Well, the place is under a full facelift...don't know how long it will last, or why it cannot be done during the low season for tourists, but this is it....no coin throwing for sure for me this time. Smile!



As you can guess, there was the sites, but in Rome, there is also the food! Not much wine for me this time, as there is way too much to discover in a pretty short time. As I'm on the go, it was mainly food on the go....but as much as I love Thai food, it's tough not to truly enjoy some amazing snacks while in Rome. So splurging I did a little! And as the temperature was way above the 35 degrees mark, it was obviously time for a little ice cream....whenever, and clearly more than once per day!



Rome, I will be back, for sure..one of these days! My next stop is just a flight, or rather two flights away, to discover more places in Europe where I still have to set foot. First, next stop, is really not in your tourist path, but later....well, it is the top of the high season in many places in South of Europe, it is like that!



Next entry, coming soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



10th August 2015
Spanish Steps

I've never seen the Spanish Steps so devoid of people...
it must have been the high temperatures that kept them away. Anyway, gelato was definitely the right choice for food!
10th August 2015
Spanish Steps

Indeed Bob!
But you and I know that few years in Asia train you for anything!
10th August 2015
I cannot stand tourists who lack respect in a sacred place...this for which ever religion!

Have I drank too much green tea with my breakfast, or is that woman really wearing a meerkat head??
10th August 2015
I cannot stand tourists who lack respect in a sacred place...this for which ever religion!

Well Spotted!
And this is a church....disgusting behavior.....in a church or any sacred place of any religion!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb