im in love with some red italian...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 4th 2006
Published: September 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My HallwayMy HallwayMy Hallway

I took this picture from my room. There are two bathrooms (James and I get one all to ourselves!) Gaia's room is the first right and James' the second.
tennis courts! They are right across the Tiber from where i live, but i have not yet found a way to play them!

Well, im still safe and sound. I started classes today which was great. I had italian intro course; we went over proper pronunciation which was good! Later in the day i had philosophy of God, which i think is going to be a good class, but im the only philosophy major in the class, so i already have a hand up! I love my teacher, i also have him for my Papacy class, so cheers to that.

Things have just been so busy. We were in orientation for the first four days and we moved in with our host families (ish) yesterday. I am living with a 30 year old woman named Gaia who is great. She is a lawyer and speaks great English, which is good since my roomate James and i do not! Once we have an idea about italian she will be able to help. The neighborhood that i am living in, Prati, is real chill, a very neighborhoody feel. It is a nice break up compared to center rome. Our classes are
My Room IMy Room IMy Room I

the 1/2 of my room with my bed and armour on the left
2 blocks from the spansih steps. So that is a neat place to be around as well.

I am posting pictuers of the church next to our school. It is where St. Maxamilian Kolbe celebrated his 1st mass. It also has 2 original statues of Angels done by Bernini. It is amazing and peaceful. I will send more pictures as they come.

I miss you all and hope to hear from you soon. Ciao!

Pace e bene,

Jonathan




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

My Room IIMy Room II
My Room II

My window and desk
Beday anyone?Beday anyone?
Beday anyone?

Still don't know how to use it, even though they tried explaining it to us during orientation!
ViewView
View

View from our balcony. (you get to it from either Gaia's or James' room. James and i flipped for it and he won that room!) Make sure you notice the Tiber on the right, which is pretty neat
my roomatemy roomate
my roomate

This is James. He is from Chicago and is really laid back and cool.
GaiaGaia
Gaia

Gaia cooking dinner in the quaint kitchen. Thank God she speaks great English. She will help with Italian once i know something, and with 3 hours a day, that will be soon hopefully.
Bernini's AngelsBernini's Angels
Bernini's Angels

This is one of the 2 origional Bernini statues in the church literally next to our school. They have morning masses in there and a fabulous courtyard next to the church seen in the pictures following.
From the churchFrom the church
From the church

This side alter has a beautiful image of St. Joachium and St. Anne with Mary as a child. Underneath the alter is St. Anne on her deathbed
From the church...From the church...
From the church...

This is a main view of where they celebrate mass daily
From the church...From the church...
From the church...

The main alter
From the church...From the church...
From the church...

The bust of St. Maximilian Kolbe to the right tells that he celebrated his first mass here! There are relics all along the arch...pretty good company!
From the church...From the church...
From the church...

The main dome
PeacefulPeaceful
Peaceful

This quiet old monestary center is perfect for sitting and relaxing. I ate lunch there today. It has a beautiful center fountain with fish at the bottom.
outside top of the churchoutside top of the church
outside top of the church

As Paulo, a teacher at our school and art historian told us, the brickwork at the top of the building was done by a competetor of Bernini, Barbanini. Either way, i think it is very cool.
intersectionintersection
intersection

The intersection for school. De Dui Machelli means sort of "two butcher shops" Machelli is a place where people go to get meat butchered. Capo de case means "head of the house"
intersection...intersection...
intersection...

This is the main street we are on...and yes, i am standing in the road to take the picture.


4th September 2006

which church?
Hey Jonathan. Great stuff! I enjoy seeing Rome once again...how I miss thee. I was just wondering which Church is next to you? Anyways, all is well in Denver. Drink some wine for me. Peace
9th September 2006

Names! You need to put names on your pictures!
I would greatly appreciate it if you could label places (like the Church you mentioned) so that I can know what you're talking about. I'll let it slide this time... I just had to google the church :) Also, I find this: "speaks great English, which is good since my roomate James and i do not!" amusing. You've forgotten how to speak English already, Jonathan? Such a short attention span... Have a wonderful weekend there- you're making me jealous!!
23rd September 2006

You Make Me Miss Rome
Jonathan, Thanks for sharing the pics and how things are going. Looks like a ruff life. I cannot wait to see you when you get back and get filled in on everything in person with all Jonathan excitement present! Hope classes are treating you well. Tell the Pope I love him when you see him next. And yes, Kansas is home for the next few months at least. So, I will see you when you get back. Love ya cuz!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 9; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb