ROME- We Made it!!!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 12th 2005
Published: May 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post


This is actually day three....our second full day! But it feels like I have been here for weeks! Rome did not intimadate me at all!

Our first night was in the charming and lovely Trastevere! We stayed at the Trastevere Hotel. Even the graffitti I got used to and coudn't imagine the walls without them. Theres a certain charm within them.

The next morning was Amy's birthday and it was great! She opened up her card from HAD # 3 and followed that by a card I had secretly kept, from her sister and father... it was so hard to keep that a secret.

That day we ended walking from 7:30 that morning to 10, checked out of the Hotel and found our way to Termini train station via cab...total cost 12,60 euro....about 16.00 dollars... well, worth it... it would have been terrible to have to carry our suitcases with us. Once at the train station we made best use of the time we had and booked a reservation for our seats to Venice.

The Yellow Hostel was right away very hip and clean and I knew it had been an excellent choice, this time. You
Ciao Bella!Ciao Bella!Ciao Bella!

Above the Spanish Steps... and before that terrible 17$ gellato!
really never know what you are going to get into. 😉

We are in a small room, about 10 by 12 feet with six beds, a private shower and toliet. It is actually extremely comfortable! Or maybe that by the end of the day, anywhere I can put my feet up is wonderful!

To end our first full day in Rome, we ended up celebrating Amy's Birthday @ a PUB crawl. It was fun,and interesting. The tour during the first hour was interesting and worth the money. Unlike the hideous Colossuem tour we went on earilier that day. Amy was able to get into the Pubs for free ,and we had a few free shots. I felt like i was one of the oldest people there, besides the struggling artist form Venice Beach, CA who is about 30 something, taking pictures with all the pre-college students, who are still psyched about the free alcohol on international flights. We left early and got a good nights rest for the next day.

So day three, we WALKED, WALKED, WALKED, WALKED...... Amy has a blister on her foot, the back of my left knee is swollen, and we had to scrub the bottoms of our feet with S.O.S pads at the supermercato! Really gross! Oh! But we are in Rome!

Advertisement



12th May 2005

A $17 Gellatto!?!
Yep,it's been great so far. our biggest challenge is trying to conserve our Euros while not killing our feet. We seriously walked today from 10:00am to 6:00pm, we've already seen enough to fill a weeks worth of vacation, but like I said it's been great. Tomorrow: the Vattican! - Amy
12th May 2005

omigosh you are in ROME!!!!!!!!!!!!
Heidi and Amy!! first of all, happy happy birthday Amy. i am sooo amazed that you guys are in Europe..and jealous and so very excited for you. And you called me!! i love you for that. Am so sad I didn't hear my cell phone. So, what are the people like there? Do you talk to strangers? Is it romantic? Oh, it must be beautful...I think of Before Sunrise (is that the title??) Amy--congrats on having a birthday in Eurpope! And free drinks... i love you girls..keep writing! steph - stephanie renee
16th May 2005

I feel like you are in a movie
So I finally sent you a comment. Take a lot more pics or your adventure so I can live your wonderful journey with you. It is so strange not being able to pick up the phone and talk to you whenever I want. I have so much to tell you and you are so far away. I saw your bro at the parade and I really missed and still do. Love you and enjoy life. Cheers! - Charissa

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb