Ciao Bella! - Long Live Venice!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
May 15th 2005
Published: May 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My First CanalMy First CanalMy First Canal

Amy and I found this canal on our first walk into the city. Beautiful!
Oh my goodness! This is seriously my fourth attempt at writing this blog!!! But I had to make sure that I share Venice with you! If it wasn’t for failed connections, or limited internet access, this would have been another story to share instead it’s the same one I have written over and over again so if it is dull this time, I apologize. Actually, Amy, being the genius that she is, informed me that Microsoft Word would be helpful at this point… what would I do without Amy!???


Okay! So Venice was, is AMAZING!!!!! Much smaller than Rome, but with so much personality. We arrived @ noon, after a train ride that lasted only 4 hours. However, it was really confusing to find our way into the coach, and we ended up sitting with two Italian women talking incessantly…in Italian…..of course..

Once in Venice….we found the hostel and it was much bigger and brighter than the one in Rome…once again extremely lucky. Most importantly, it was CLEAN!!! Our view was fantastic! It had rained and a rainbow had emerged from above the Basilica. I do love my Basilicas....hehe

My absolutely favorite thing we did in Venice
A veiw from our room!A veiw from our room!A veiw from our room!

It was meant to be! We looked out the window after a rainstorm, and there was a rainbow. We knew at that moment that we have fallen for Venice!
was not the Vivaldi- Four seasons concert, but that was very sophisticated of us, it was traveling to the islands of Murano and Burano, a 40 min ferry ride to each. Murano was filled with desirable glass vases, jewelry, all sorts of things made of glass… Really! People came from all over the world to buy the glass on this little Island. Of course, I had to get a little piece myself. I found the perfectly matching yellow and green glass ring to go with my HOT yellow bag I bought from Rome…oh yeah! It was in the budget…hehe

Burano, though, had the most character. The houses although small and narrow, made up for it with their bright colors. We were told that the local fishermen paint their boats the same color as their houses as to easily find their way home after a long night of fishing and drinking. Those crazy fishermen!!

We also hung out at St. Marks Square. It is here were two merchants stole the body of Mark, from the Gospel of Mark, from Egypt and then created the Church to worship… nuts!

We had to leave…I left with such a sad and
Murano Glass!Murano Glass!Murano Glass!

I loved watching this local man blow glass! He learned his craft from generations before him!
heavy heart. I really feel in love with the food, the quaint shops filled with shoes and bags, and I was even getting used to the mullets…. *sigh* Venice….Ciao!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Amy in Burano!Amy in Burano!
Amy in Burano!

My Favorite place in Venice! Later we hung out with those crazy fishermen..hehe..j/k!
Backpacker Heidi Faye!Backpacker Heidi Faye!
Backpacker Heidi Faye!

This is in the square right outside our hostel... We are just about to leave...sad..tear..But Hooray for PARIS!
Two Spritz Per Favore!Two Spritz Per Favore!
Two Spritz Per Favore!

See Amy's comment for more details! ;)
We sure do LOVE our gelatto!We sure do LOVE our gelatto!
We sure do LOVE our gelatto!

uhh..yes, one pistachio, and yogurt... YUUUUUUMMMMMYYYYYY!!!!!! We need to run!


19th May 2005

No Spritz for us!
Yes, Venice was so great. We didn't see a automobile for 4 whole days! We did see: Lots of olives, boats, Basilicas, canals, brights colors, pistachio gelatto(yummmmmm), the word "touristic", outrageously priced shoes and bags, and everyone drinking Spritz as their "pre-funk". This cute little drink, bight orange, with a lemon slice in it......tastes nasty!! What are they thinking?!? Italy was great, but basta pasta!! :) - Amy
23rd May 2005

who are you girls??
omigosh my little babies galloping all over Europe!!! Wow, Venice sounds fabulous...boats everywhere...gelato...yum! I'm so glad I got to catch up on your journals. They are so cool. And your pics! I love it... tell me more stories! more stories! steph - Stephanie

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb