Last day in Rome...Florence tomorrow


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 4th 2005
Published: May 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I was about to post a journal entry last night when one of my roommates came running into the computer lab saying that everyones bags had been broken into so I went running upstairs and my backpack still looked intact, the zippers were still locked shut. But then when I turned my bag and looked at the other side the zipper had been ripped open and my camera and memory cards, cash, and some other stuff had been left in there and LUCKILY they were still there. The only thing missing from anyones bag was a train ticket to florence from another girls bag. Interesting.

No one knows what happened, I left the window open and my clothes hanging outside and theres a blacony in relatively close range but the people in that room is a family and a few young girls, like 10 yrs old so its not them. The other possibility is a strange person in our room who checked in early yesterday morning but never came back until 3 a.m., maybe he went in during the €1 pasta because it happened between 7 and 9 pm. It was kind of a wakeup call because I was just starting to let my guard down a bit and not locking my backpack everytime. The aussie happened to say its better to be safe than sorry and how we were lucky neither of us had anything stolen so i decided to lock it up just in case. The other strange thing is that the aussie (Brett) had a few £'s on him cuz he's ben in london for the past 8 months and the bag they were in was folded up and placed in my messenger bag! WTF! I went through my bag to make sure everything was still their, my journal, camera and said that its not my bag and he turned around and said it was his...strange. I dont think he's suspicious of me...i hope not.

Some people think its the 30-plus malaysian writer but i dont know...she was down with us for the most part. The other sketchy thing is I as the only one who went back to the room during this time which also doesnt look too good for me.

Anyways today ive eaten a crapload of gelato (fragole - strawberry, limone, lampone and chocolate are my fav ones. Plus its been like 80+ today so the fruity ones hit the spot) and just spent the day walking around the city, did a little shopping, and have been looking endessly for a post office but still havent been able to find one.

Unfortunately i didnt make it to the amalfi coast when i was in naples, it woulda been kinda pricey and i figure cinque terre will be my beach time and its supposed to be really nice as well. Im gonna head to florence tomorrow for 2 days and maybe do some sort of bike tour of tuscany on my second day?? Who knows... umm what else, free crappy pizza tonight, €2 beers from 7-8 pm and its gonna be a relatively early night because i want to be on the 647 train tomorrow morning to florence so ill be there by 10 and can have the whole day to go around this way i can maybe do the wine tasting bike tour the next day.


love and miss you all

ciao

Advertisement



4th May 2005

Hey Buddy
I've been keeping up with your journals...they're great!! I'm really glad to hear that you're having such a great time and getting to see Europe. I look forward to seeing all your pictures. I've always wanted to go to Italy, it sounds beautiful, some day hopefully I'll get there. Safe travels... Jamey - Jamey
4th May 2005

Hey Buddy
I had to log in, in order to add a comment, so hopefully it doesn't get posted twice. Anyways...I've been following all your journals, they are really great and interesting. I'm glad to hear you're having an awesome time! Italy sounds beautiful, I can't wait to go some day! I look forward to seeing all your pictures. Safe travels... Jamey
4th May 2005

What up Critelli
Hey Matt, Just wanted to let you know that I have been reading all of your journals and it sounds like you are having an amazing time. I am sooo jealous that you are traveling all over Italy right now!!! You are hitting up all the places in Italy that I have always dreamed of going to! You have to let me know how Florence is...I hear it's absolutely gorgeous so enjoy your time there. I also here that Tuscany is another amazing place...enjoy the bike tour if you do it. Well I hope that all is well and i will speak to you soon. Take lots of pictures in Florence!!!! Desiree - Desiree

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb