Pope Benedict XVI and I had a talk ***....


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
March 19th 2013
Published: March 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So, when I was in Rome recently I spent some time talking with Joe, you might have known him as Pope Benedict XVI, but I knew him way back when he was Fr. Joseph Ratzinger. We had a real 'heart to heart' about his health, his age, and all the troubles in the current church and that he should give some serious thought to moving, gracefully, not just aside but out of the way. Thankfully, he listened. *** (of course you all know that this is just a fantasy on my part)

I was pleased that shortly after I returned home on Feb. 6th came the surprising announcement that Benedict was going to retire. Say what? A Pope retire?? Why the last time that happened was 600 or so years ago! It was fun watching all the clerics run around in circles for a while trying to figure out what to do next since they were now leaderless. It was amazing to watch him take off in a white helicopter and fly to a place of repose with his last words being, "I am no longer the Pope... I'm just a pilgrim who is starting the last part of his pilgrimage on earth." I sincerely hope he keeps his word and detaches himself from the everyday politics of the Vatican and the running of the church, that he keeps his vow to seek solace and begin a life of prayer, study, and meditation. There is something noble and refreshing about his decision to detach himself from the power and pomp of being Pope. I wish him well as he shows us that there is a higher purpose in life than fame, fortune, and power. That is being one with the self and whatever God one choses to believe in.

And then we waited. Who will be the next Pope? I thought back to my days visiting the Vaticanand especially the Sistine Chapel where I casually had mentioned the doors that only open when a new Pope is being chosen, where I had sat almost in solitude gazing at the magnificent Michaelangelo ceiling and thinking about all the mystery and intrigue that had, over the years, taken place in that room. Now it was about to happen again. All the cardinals (except those over the age of 80 who aren't allowed to vote) were flown to Rome from all over the world. Rumors abounded. Hopes were raised that maybe the next Pope would be more modern, less conservative, more a man of the people, perhaps even someone non - european. I was not among those who ever saw a non European as being Pope. So I was amazed, astounded, and delighted that an Argentinean was chosen and a Jesuit! For those not familiar with Church lore the Jesuits are considered to be the intellectuals of priests. They have always sort of gone their own way and never paid too much attention to Rome's demands. They are missionaries who hundreds of years ago often brutally made their way into Central and So. America converting the indigenous populations. They are noted for their many school and famous universities. But a Jesuit as a Pope? Whew! This should be an interesting and hopefully bumpy ride.

I liked him immediately when I heard that the first day after his being made Pope he took a public bus back to his hotel, paid his own bill, carried his own suitcase, and thanked all the staff. I learned that in Buenos Aires he had eshewed the more palatial rooms of the Cardinal and chose instead to live in a rather ratty apartment, cooking his own meals, and taking public trams. I loved that he 'escaped' from his handlers out a side door onto a street near the Vatican and walked amongst the people startling those passing by and greeting them as an ordinary pastor does after weekly services. You go Francisco!!!

I wrote to my freind in Salta, Argentina and asked how the people there felt about the new Pope. Here is her reply:" We are so happy. We don't know if we love the Pope because he has always corrected our President or beause he will be a good Pope. During the Kichner political time (first husband, now Cristina) Cardinal Bergoglio was called (by the two of them)"the enemy of the country". I hope Cristina learns something from this election." So one more thing to like about him- he stood up to the government which is not easy to do in a county that has a history of 'disappeared' people.

An interesting turn of events....

Carolyn

Advertisement



19th March 2013

Well Done Carolyn!
I wondered if you'd had a hand in the resignation!
19th March 2013

Positive Thinking about Pope Frannie
I wish you had been part of the emails that went flying among my more liberal Catholic cousins! We don't see much hope for women's rights under him, but we are confident he won't be under the Curia's thumb, and thus progress might be made to a more open church. I like his style so far.
19th March 2013

Great blog!
Once again you make me smile and laugh. I'm not Catholic but I certainly loved watching all of this unfold. My husband was raised Catholic and no longer claims to be. He really didn't have any interest but watched a bit to humor me. The thing I've never understood about formal religions of many kinds is why they waste so much money when the people in their congregation are starving or not on firm financial feet. Maybe Francis can make some changes and cut down on the waste. It seems like the Cardinals have a pretty cushy life. Hope they don't regret voting in a Jesuit. I need to teach you to add photos. I photo from Rome would have been perfect for this one. With any luck, all the priest and cardinals will be riding the bus.
19th March 2013

New Pope....New Life
I agree with you about Pope Francis. In fact, I'm hoping that he will modernize the the church operations but continue the liturgy as I'm still a traditionalist and I like pomp and ceremony. In fact, I attended mass last Sunday for the first time in years and I still get amazed with the changes. I still prefer the Latin mass as that is the way I learned it and still have my prayer books. I was surprised to see so many people at the 7:00am mass. It was very nice and I will try to go again next Sunday.
20th March 2013

Loved this!
Great writing: entertaining and educational. I look forward to following your adventures....
20th March 2013

Also....
Think about publishing photos with your blogs...?
20th March 2013

photos to blog
I am really pretty technologically challenged so am reluctant to fool around with photos when in sometimes sleazy internet cafes' but the real reason is that it makes me work harder as a writer. I love to read other blogs and see their pics but sometimes that makes me lazy as a reader. I know a lot of people are attracted to reading some blogs because of the quality of the photos- maybe some day..... Carolyn ( gunga)

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0817s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb