Europe Vacation - Rome, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
April 1st 2012
Published: April 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in ROMA!Arrived in ROMA!Arrived in ROMA!

waiting for luggage
Bonjourno from Rome!

We are currently in Day 11 of our European journey. We never realized that the ferry/cruise boat, doesn't make any trips on Sunday, so we got stuck in Rome for another night....awww shucks!

Overview: We arrived Friday afternoon, to a beautiful day and saw a lot in the afternoon. So much so, that we didn't have to take any tours on Saturday. There were only a couple places left that we wanted to see. Just being in Rome is a sight in itself. It is so beautiful!

On Saturday Terri wanted to take the train to see Pompei, a small city/region in Italy to see the ruins. Me on the other hand, was not interested so I remained in Rome to do my own thing. My 'own thing' consisted of renting a bike and, with map in hand, doing my own exploring righ here in Rome. I wanted to rent a scooter but since BOTH my UAE and Ontario drivers licenses' were in the wallet that I got stolen in Berlin, I was reduced to the bike rental. Lucky my passport was not with my wallet..:-(. Anyway, happier times here iin Roma!

On our
Our hotel...Our hotel...Our hotel...

...Domus Aventina
last day here, we completed this GREAT holiday here, by visiting the Vatican, which was amazing, as one can imagine or have experienced. We took the city bus, but then ended up having to resort to a cab (since we got off at St. Paul's Basilica by mistake...lol...which was also very beautiful!).

My opinion of Roma (as they call it here in Italy): Loved it! Like Ireland and Prague, I would come back in a minute, and will again someday. Maybe with George Clooney when he finally decides to settle down with someone his own age...lol. The People: Wonderful, kind, helpful (especially the men!). The food: Just as you think, very good and yes, the pizza is much thinner and I actually like it. The weather: Again, we lucked out. Warm and sunny everyday.

We are on to Civitavecchia, Italy tomorrow to the port where we will board the ferry (22hr trip), to Barcelona.

I will leave you now to enjoy the pictures and as always, let the captions speak for themself.

See you in Spain! xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Domus AventinaDomus Aventina
Domus Aventina

The lobby...a bit tacky but sooo Italian
Our balconyOur balcony
Our balcony

...this is why I love charming hotels!
Ciro Massimo...Ciro Massimo...
Ciro Massimo...

...our first sight for our on foot tour
Oh, oh.....Oh, oh.....
Oh, oh.....

...these guys looked like trouble...
...I was right.......I was right....
...I was right....

...they had us seated and dressed for the pic in less than 2 minutes....lol
Okay, not sure what his is again...Okay, not sure what his is again...
Okay, not sure what his is again...

...but very cool eh? lol
These next few shots.....These next few shots.....
These next few shots.....

..are simply exquisite and quaint sites, I felt compelled to capture
...and this......and this...
...and this...

...check out the exquisite chic also! lol


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb