Moved to the verge of tears in the Necropolis


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 14th 2011
Published: February 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I liked the Vatican tour so much more this time around. The excavations were really amazing. Our tour guide, Taras, was so entertaining and knowledgeable he gave us the book he wrote on the very subject! We also got his name and card.

My favorite part was when we said an Our Father in front of the tomb of St. Peter. All of us in unison and I just felt something. I almost cried and so I hung back and left last, adding another small prayer. It reminded me that I might need to accept God a bit more and make him a bigger part of my life.

I was soon pulled from my contemplative state when the reality of travel hit. Next thing I know we are sprinting to the train. It was nice to finally be able to embrace travel through running in the metro, one of my favorite travel activities.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb