The Home Stretch


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 7th 2011
Published: May 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Since last time we chatted, a lot has changed in mia vita. After Easter Sunday, Rome began to fill up much like a walmart on Black Friday. Millions of people, thousands of Port A Potties and tents lined my street and surrounded the Vatican in anticipation for the Beatification of John Paul the Second. Also known as JP2. The casket of the future saint was pulled up and any and all we given the chance to view the remains until every single person saw it. It was an absolute zoo. When I attempted to make my way down there I could not breath. Millions of people packed the street in hopes to see the ex pope. On the 85 degree day, people were fainting, tempers were flying and the true character of many Italian women as they shoved their way through was shown. But it was a once in a life time opportunity that i will not forget.
The next week were my final tests. How can teachers expect students to study in this magical city. Regardless, I hit them out of the park and am glad they are over to say the least. Honestly, this week was one of the hardest to go through. I have spent 4 months with these people. Every day and every night and now I was expected to leave them over night. It was rough. On Wednesday, we had family dinner with the close friends that we have accumulated and on Thursday, the roommates of 46 Via Aurelia threw a party for the record books. Thanks to facebook, embarrassing pictures of all in attendance lined the wall and it was an awesome way to say goodbye.
With the fear and realization that I will probably never see most of these people ever again set in, it was extremely hard to pack. But I did it. To my roommates and all my friends in Rome, this was an experience that I will not forget. Rome has left a huge, life changing impression on my life and I hope I left an impression on it.
I am currently waiting on the arrival of Michael DiLauro, to finish out my trip in proper fashion with the meeting of my relatives in the south of Italy. I will be sure to keep all inform.
Ciao For Now
S


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb