Lots to inform


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
April 26th 2011
Published: April 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Sunday after my last entry, I had the opportunity to go inside the Vatican walls and attend Mass at The American University Seminary. Thanks to my roommate Ryan, who had the connection, we were able to attend a mass with over 50 priests in the congregation and over 40 priests on the altar. After, we ate brunch with all the food we have been missing from home and explored the Seminary. They really do have it nice for priest in Rome. At the top of the School was one of the best views in Rome thus far. At the end of the week, I met up with my cousins, Gina and Theresa and Nancy for Dinner in Piazza Barberini.
The week following was filled with schoolwork and soccer which was very hectic. The JCU Gladiators won their first two games in the playoffs. Last Wednesday, we finally lost but I did get my chance to play in the final match. JCU ended in 3rd place, which is the best in school history and my career as an international soccer player has ended.
The next weekend, I took an overnight trip to “Cinque Terre”. It is 5 towns on the beach and is one of the most picturesque areas I have ever been. We jumped off some rocks into the water and took a ferry from town to town. My only regret is not staying longer.
When I returned, Rome began to fill up and was a zoo. The buses were packed and it was hard getting around. It did not stop me from getting in my last items on the “to do list.” I went to Bone Church, which is featured in the movie “Angels and Demons” which is packed with over 4,000 bodies. It was pretty artistic but still creeped me out. Then we headed over to Villa Borghese and road Segways all over the Park. Honestly those things are a little sketchy and very unconventional. The next day was Easter and where else would you want to be in the world on that day then Rome. My house hosted a brunch with over 20 people and I was the assistant chef. (Yes, graham is not the only cook in the family). My hash browns were a hit (thanks mom).
Now I enter the home stretch in my stay abroad. I cannot believe how quickly it has gone. See you all very soon


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb