Rome..Rome..Wherefore art thou Rome?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 18th 2010
Published: December 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Atlanta, Ga. to Rome, Italy


This is my recap of my European vacation. I was about to embark on an amazing trip, and I hope the following summary will do the trip justice. My flight to Rome was a very pleasant flight. I met some interesting people on board. The lady who sat beside me (Carmin) was also travelling alone on the flight, and she was meeting a group going to the Alfami Coast. We struck up a conversation, and I told her my itinerary. She said that would probably be more fun, as I would get to see more sights. I told her I agreed, however that I was nervous because of the unknown situation concerning the trains, as well as a new couple of countries for me. I also was not 100% sure concerning the stay in the hostels because of the sharing of rooms. Oh well, cheap bed.
Upon arrival in Rome, I was a bit awestruck as to what to do.
Carmin and I stuck together until we cleared the baggage claim/control. I told her I would wait with her a little while to see if her friends would arrive, for they would be arriving within thirty minutes from JFK in New
Looking for the VaticanLooking for the VaticanLooking for the Vatican

Little nervous and overwhelmed at the moment
York. I went ahead and took 250 Euros out of the ATM, and I went to the restroom and put on my money belt. I came back out, and I decided that I really needed to get started on my journey, and I left Carmin in a safe area. I made my way to the train, and I looked back and noticed that her friends arrived. Now what do I do? I found the direction to the train station, and I was confused. Lucky for me, I met a couple from Idaho in which this was their 6th trip to Rome. They helped me find my way to purchase a train ticket. We bypassed the large line and bought the pass at a tobacco stand. This was the way to go. I continued my conversation with them, and I asked them what their interest in Rome was. The male told me that he was very interested in the history, and he also was learning Italian. My first thought was who in the world will he speak Italian to in Idaho, but I guess I was being shallow.
Upon arrival at the train station, Termini Station, I then proceeded to follow
Rome PictureRome PictureRome Picture

Looking for the Vatican
this couple to the front of the station. I was overwhelmed to say the least. I did not know which way to go, or what to do. The couple was on their way, but the female told me to go to the left out the front of the station. I did this, and I could not locate my street. I got a bit nervous, for everyone was speaking a foreign language around me. I found a vendor selling hop-on hop-off tickets. He was an American that moved to Italy. He saw my Georgia bag I guess and spoke to me in English. I proceeded to ask him where my hostel was via the road, and he directed me to the right of the station. I was a little weary, but what choice did I have at this moment? I started walking, and I came to a fruit stand with a guy selling watermelons. I showed him where I was headed, and he directed me down two streets. I took the advice, and I found my street. What a relief. At this point I was pretty tired, excited, and nervous all at one time. I made my way down the street,
Rome PictureRome PictureRome Picture

Looking for the Vatican
and found my hostel. I went to the front desk, and after waiting my turn, kind of slow, but at that point I was just glad to be where I was supposed to be. When it was my turn, I was told that check-in was at 2:00 pm (it was appox. 10:00 am at this time). I was told I could store my luggage downstairs. I proceeded to do this, and I found plenty of other bags stored here. I put mine in the corner, used the restroom, went back to the front desk, and I got a map of the city. I was finally off on my journey of Rome.
Here we go. I left the hostel, and I made my way to the bus area. I was indecisive about buying a hop-on hop-off ticket yet for they cost on a per day basis. I was not sure if everything was in walking distance or not. I am such a tight wad that I did not want to waste any money if I did not necessarily have to do it. I stopped at a tobacco stand and asked how much was the ticket to Vatican City. I was going
Castel Sant' AngeloCastel Sant' AngeloCastel Sant' Angelo

What a sight to see off of the beaten path...
here this day, for the Sistine Chapel would be closed on Sunday (my last day in Rome). I bought a round trip bus ticket (2 or 3 Euro I don't remember) to Vatican City and back. I was told to catch bus 40. I proceeded to find bus 40, and I got on board. Little nervous because I was out of my element, and I was not in control, however, me and my day bag were off.
After several stops, I was not sure where to get off the bus. I saw something that looked close to what I thought the Vatican may be like and I decided to hop off the bus.
I made my way down this street where a lot of people were gathering, and I saw this large castle looking place. The name of this magnificent sight was Castel Sant’ Angelo. I took some photos, and found it was not my destination. I decided to tour this place anyway, and what a thrill it was. I made my way up this winding walkway, and before I knew it I was at the top. I walked around and took some photos. The view was spectacular. I don't
Rome PictureRome PictureRome Picture

Looking for the Vatican
know exactly how old the place I was in was, but I knew I was in a part of some history.
I proceeded down and out of this place, and made my way around the street. I stopped at a street vendor, and asked him where Vatican City was. He told me I was in Vatican City. I was thrilled. I turned around and looked up a street that looked like somewhere that a lot of people were headed. The closer I got, I knew it was St. Peters Square. I arrived and was awestruck. The place was huge, and the view of the Vatican was spectacular.
I walked around and took some photos, and I was not sure I could go in for the line (they call them queues) was so long. I said what the heck, for this is why I came here. I queued up in line and waited my turn to get in. When I got in, the Vatican was amazing. I started thinking about all of the history, and all of the popes, and all of the people that had been where I was at that very space. This is where the pope does whatever
The VaticanThe VaticanThe Vatican

What Beauty to Behold
he does to all of the devout Catholics. Of course, me being Protestant and not Catholic, I did not understand a lot about what was going on. The Vatican was immaculate. I was very impressed with the beauty. I hope my pictures will do it justice. After walking around for a while in the Vatican, I made my way outside. The view of St. Peters Square was amazing.
I started to think that this is where hundreds or actually thousands and thousands of people come to listen to the pope. There were huge panoramic boards (two that I remember) where they could project the pope up close where all could see. I left here, looked back, nodded my head and moved on.
Now I wanted to see the Sistine Chapel. I made my way down a street, and after walking about a quarter of a mile, I turned around for I thought I was going the wrong way. When I got back to where I started, I was told I was going in the right direction to begin with. How stupid and mad I felt. My feet were already hurting, and I had only just begun. I walked back down
St. Peters SquareSt. Peters SquareSt. Peters Square

View of the square from the front of the Vatican
this particular street, and I caught up with some people standing in a line. I made my way into the queue and started to wait. By this time I was already tired of the street vendors for they were trying to sell everything. I was actually surprised at how much merchandise they had to sell. Anyway, I was very close to the front entrance of the Sistine Chapel, and it began to rain. Oh crap. I left my rain jacket in my other luggage bag. Also about this time, I remember I also left my photocopies of my passport, driver’s license, and credit cards in my other luggage. The luggage could be accessed in anyone wanted too, for I did not have any locks on them. I started to worry about this. Oh well, what do you do? I thought to myself, that it is my own fault and not to let it ruin my day.
Back to the rain. I made it inside the Sistine Chapel before it really started to rain hard. The funny thing is that the street vendors already were selling umbrellas. Where do they keep their stock? Upon entering the Sistine Chapel; I decided this
Sistene Chapel EntranceSistene Chapel EntranceSistene Chapel Entrance

How exciting to finally be here.
was the only place I wanted to view. I paid 9 Euros to get in I believe. I entered and was again awestruck. I made my way around taking photos, and I hope they did this place justice. You had to have the flash off so I don't think the quality will be as good, but this was the rule. It was amazing how beautiful the paintings, walls, ceilings, and floors were. Words can't describe. I took as many photos as I could of interesting things to me, but you could not take enough pictures of everything. There was just too much. I went into one room, and was about to take a photo, and I was told to put my camera away politely in Italian and English. You could not photograph this painting. I thought I had saw all I wanted to see here, so I made my way out, and now I had to find my bus back to the hostel. I walked up some streets, but of course I forgot which one was where I got off the bus at, for they all looked the same to me. I finally found a bus stop where bus 40
Sistine Chapel Painting PhotosSistine Chapel Painting PhotosSistine Chapel Painting Photos

These are painted and inside of the Sistene Chapel
would come by, and I was never more relieved when it came and I got on. After several stops, I was back at the main bus stop area where I boarded, and I made my way on foot back to my hostel.
Upon arriving at the hostel (I guess it was around 5 pm) I could check in. I did so, and then I gathered my other bag. It appears that no one got into it, so I was eased a little. I then made my way to my room (number 21). The elevator appeared to not work, but it was only two flights of stairs, so I heaved it up the stairs. I did not know what to expect, so after finally figuring out how to open the door with the key, I entered my room. There were four beds (two sets of bunk beds, originally suppose to be 6 beds) in my room. The two on the left were taken already, so I took the top bunk on the right. No one was in the lower bunk yet. I looked at the room, lockers, and bathroom and I decided it was not so bad. I tried my combination lock in the locker, but it was too big again. I then proceeded to use the little ties that I brought to secure my luggage. Man I should have used these before, but I was not thinking. I made my way out to look around some more, and upon coming back, after opening my door, a young Japanese guy seemed startled when I opened the door. I greeted him in both English and Japanese and he seemed at ease at this point. We talked a few minutes, and his friend was also with him but not at this time. So for now I had myself and two Japanese guys in my room.
I went down to the social area to sit and watch television. Of course it was in Italian and I could not understand, but there was a Rugby game on, and there were a lot of guys watching and getting into it. I decided I would also watch even though I do not understand the rules. After twenty or thirty minutes, a guy started talking to me about the Rugby game. I told him I did not understand the game. He ended up being a fascinating guy.
Hostel BedHostel BedHostel Bed

My bed in Rome
His name was Mike Albert, and he was from New Zealand. He had been travelling since March, and he would continue until the end of the year. He started telling me of the places he had been and what he saw and did. I was amazed, but even more so when I saw some of his pictures on his camera. He had been to some amazing places, and I then at that point thought, hey, I would like to go to some of those places.
At 7:30 every night at this hostel, pizza is served free. They call it a pizza party. It was funny when they bought out the pizza (in two large plastic containers), the people just hoarded it. I mean people were just grabbing what they could get. I thought I had better do the same, otherwise I would not get any, so I grabbed two slices. Luckily I got mushroom and cheese. I don't like mushrooms, but I eat them anyway for I was pretty hungry at this point. I was going to get more, but the last pieces on the bottom looked like cucumber and cheese, and I don't care for cucumber at all. Also,
The ColiseumThe ColiseumThe Coliseum

What a thrill to see
about fifty hands had been touching, so I thought better of even getting and picking off the cucumbers. After further conversation with Mike, I was tired so I made my way to my room. When going in, the other young Japanese guy was there, and we talked for a little while. I got ready for bed, actually I think I just brushed my teeth and fell asleep in my clothes. Man was I tired, feet hurting, and I was starting to get irritation on my legs for walking so much. This was only day one.
I awoke on day two knowing exactly what I wanted to do. Originally I was going to get a hop-on hop-off pass for the day. This would have cost anywhere between 16 and 20 Euros. The previous night, Mike told me I could take the Metro, and if I knew the stops, I could walk anywhere to see what I wanted to see. I took his advice. What good advice it was. I think I spent 4 Euros all day for travel. My first destination was definitely going to be the Coliseum. I have wanted to see this since I was a kid. I made my way to the Metro station, underground and a little scary, but enough people to think it would be okay. I purchased a one-way ticket. I rode for a few stops, and got off at the Coliseum stop. I made my way up the steps, and there it was.
I was like a little kid. I actually got tears well up in my eyes because I could not believe I was here. I stood and looked and then took a photo. I made my way across the street and got in the queue. The queues were not too large for it was very early in the morning. I made my way to the front entrance and paid 12 Euros to enter. I bypassed using the guided tour or audio tour, for I was more interested in just seeing this amazing sight. I enter and quickly was awestruck as to the engineer and design of the building so many years ago. So much history here and so many people have walked right where I was at. Some probably even to their death. Anyway, I stayed here quite a long time, for I wanted to soak it all in. I walked on the levels you were allowed to walk on completely around the arena. I read some of the history, but more than anything, I stood in awe, and I just gazed out across the arena floor and thought about what may have happened here.
Next I wanted to see the Roman Forum. This is the old remains of the old Roman city.
I could see from the distance, but I did not know how to get in. I made my way up a couple of streets, one maybe not so safe, and got confused. Three young Japanese girls asked me if I knew how to get to the Forum, and I said no, but I asked them to photo me in front of the Coliseum. Easier to ask someone when you have started a small conversation with. Anyway, I made my way down the main drag, and there was a marching band walking down the street. I watched for a few minutes, but I had too much to do and I would rather look at the remains than people in uniforms.
I finally found the entrance to the Roman Forum, and I got in the queue. A guy who was like the overseer of the place gave the rules out while we were in line. I noticed that I had purchased a multipurpose ticket at the Coliseum, so I got out of the long queue and scooted up to the front of the line. I walked right in. I started walking in the ruins, and I could not imagine how old the area was I was walking in. This dated back in the BC time. So much history, and so big of a place. I walked and walked and walked. My irritation and feet were really starting to blister at this point, but I was not going back to the hostel without seeing everything I came to see. I took several photos, and made my way back to the train station.
My next destination was the Trevi Fountain. I got off at the right stop, and after following the masses, I found the fountain. It was quite crowded around the fountain, but I pushed and shoved my way to the front. I was very safely securing my day bag, for I was told of the many pickpockets in Rome. This fountain is famous for people turning their backs and throwing in money. They wish for a safe return to Rome again someday.

I did this, but of course I threw in the smallest coin I had (1 penny), for I am a tight wad and thought it a waste to throw in a large coin. The exchange rate is too unfavorable. Anyway, I gazed at this spectacle for a while, and made my way to a spot to sit down. Now in Rome, you can drink water from the many running fountains in the city. I used this opportunity to fill my water bottle at one of the running fountains. After eating a quick snack of crackers that I brought from home, I made my way to find the Pantheon.
There were some signs that pointed in the right direction so I went this way. I came to the entrance to the Pantheon, and again was very awestruck. There was a little construction going on to the face of the Pantheon, but it did not take away from the beauty.
I made my way inside (free) and started to walk around. The Pantheon has a small circular opening in the ceiling that allows the natural sunlight to light the place. It has many beautiful painted walls, and an alter church area. I sat in the pew for a minute or two to rest and then I continued to walk around. I followed other people as they took pictures and I took a picture of me in the center of the ceiling. Just a fun thing to do I guess. Anyway, this place was amazing, and it also dates back to Jesus’ time.
I departed the Pantheon, went back by the Trevi Fountain to fill my water bottle, and decided I wanted to see the Spanish Steps. I walked until I found them. The Spanish Steps are a long set of steps where many people sit and eat their lunch or snack.
I finished off my snack here and proceeded up the street to see what else I could explore. I walked a little further and come to an amazing area with many beautiful old buildings around. The place was called Villa Borghese. My feet were killing me at this point, so I went down and sat in the middle of the courtyard on a bench that went around this needle looking monument. Many others must have been sore or tired like I was, for several people appeared to be doing the same thing. I noticed several people up high overlooking this area, so I took off to find my way to the top to get a better view. Simply breathtaking was the view from atop the building overlooking the plaza area. I gazed out over the plaza and the mountains that were to the east. I felt really amazing at this point, and excited to be where I was at. I took several photos of this area, but pictures just will not represent properly how beautiful the area really was.




I thought it was time to go back to the hostel because I really did not want to be out in the late night. I made my way back to the Metro station beside the Spanish Steps, glanced back over the Spanish Steps, and nodded my head back and forth and proceeded down the stairway. I got on the train and back to my hostel.
When I arrived back to my hostel I cleaned up and changed clothes. At this time, my new roommate was at the door. I was actually sitting on her bed when she came in. I was a little embarrassed for I had my suitcase on her bed, and I was sitting in shorts without a shirt. I apologized to her and quickly put a shirt on and moved my things. My new roommates name was Jillian Webster. Upon introductions, she told me about her journeys so far, and her next destinations. My thought again, as with Mike Albert the night before, was how in the world could these people do this much travelling. Again, here we have a young person with little responsibility who is seeing the world through a young person’s eyes. Not that they are not mature, but they seem to have a different perspective than I might have at this stage in my life.
Seeing Jillian was an experienced traveler, I asked her about the Euro rail pass, for I would be using for the first time in the morning. She told me exactly what to do, and I really did greatly appreciate it. She said that it was most important that you put the first date of travel in the appropriate box otherwise the conductor would dock you a whole day of travel, or charge the full fare of the ticket. After this conversation, I was more confident about what I should do. I bid her adieu for the evening, and I went down to get some of the free pizza. I knew I would be in much earlier than the other three roommates, for they were young and still into the bar scene, and for me, I was not and also extremely tired at this point. Anyway, I ate my pizza, chatted with Mike again, and headed to the room for bed. Of course I heard the roommates when they came in, and Jillian was actually quieter than the two Japanese guys. She was kind enough to use her cell phone as a light to get whatever she was getting for bed, but the other two guys cut the lights on, rattled bags and made noise. Oh well, what can you say for the cost of the room. Can’t really complain I suppose.
Morning came, and it was time to check out. I packed my things the night before, so all I had to do was clean up a little before I left. I said my goodbyes, and off I was to the train station for my next journey. I would be lying if I said I was not nervous, however sometimes you just have to press on and face your fears. Saying this, I had no idea what to expect. I knew my destination would be Pisa, but at the train station, I never say the city come on the large board which has all of the arrivals and departures. I start trying to ask people for help. Now, I am the type of person that gives himself plenty of time just in case there is a problem or situation. This was one of those times. No one seemed to either want to help me or didn’t understand me. One guy that spoke English told me to look for someone in a police officer looking uniform, and then he told me in a kind of smart way “Good luck”. I was like “Oh Crap”. I found my train number on the board with the right time and everything, but the city was wrong. I asked, but no luck again. I decided to trust my instinct. I went the platform mainly because I was out of options at this point. Luckily for me, a lady who was also going to Pisa heard me ask someone about the train, and she spoke up and said that that was her destination also, and that I was in the right place. Finally...relief. I boarded the train, after I found the right car, and found my seat. I was never so happy to be in the right place I don’t think. Off to Pisa we go.



Additional photos below
Photos: 405, Displayed: 39


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb