Germany - Bavaria


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
August 19th 2007
Published: September 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Atlanta, Ga. to Stuttgart, Germany


This is my first trip to Germany alone. I had been a couple of times before, but now it is on me to find my way around. I was a little familiar with Stuttgart, so I decided to fly in here. Upon arrival, I was a little nervous, but I knew I had noone to count on but myself, so off I went to get my rental car and currency.

I rented a small car, for I really did not think I would be travelling that much, and the gas would not be a large expense. I finally found the car in the lot, and when I got in and cranked it, I was really relieved. Now, off to my hotel. I found my hotel pretty easily, and once I checked in, I thought it was pretty neat that the television had my name on the screen. Anyway, I was ready to start my adventure. I wanted to ride the train, so I went to the station, which was a short walk from the hotel, and decided to take a ride. I did not know how to buy a ticket, so I asked a local. You should have seen him and I trying to communicate. He could not speak English, and I could not speak German. We were just using hand gestures. Once we finally understood each other, we were both like...Yes! That was actually fun. I rode the train to a different city and back. Didn't stay very long, for I was a little nervous seeing this was my first time. Had to get back to my hotel, for I woud be travelling to my permanent place of stay tomorrow.

I awoke, and I was off to Heilbronn. My best buddy Alex's company had an apartment there, and he said I could stay there for free. Free is good, so I accepted. I travelled about an hour or so, and I was in Heilbronn. Now, I had to find the apartment. It was number 92/2 and I found number 92. I went to the door, and my key did not work. I about panicked. I asked a local, and they told me where the other building was. I made my way there, and I was praying that the key would work. I turned the latch, and I was in. I saw my buddy's name on a magazine in there, and I almost shouted I was so happy. The apartment was really a nice place, and it had all of the ammenties including a washer and dryer. I was quite pleased.

I wanted to visit the Black Forest area, so I drove to Baden-Baden. I had heard it was beautiful, and it was. I fell in love with the place. I could stay there, but of course my apartment was free, and free is good, so I just visited, and then in the afternoon drove back to my apartment.

I decided to drive to Munich, so I hopped in the car and off I went. I drove on the autobahn, and it was foot to floorbard a good portion of the way. Still took me around four hours to get there. I arrived pretty early however, and there was much I wanted to do and see.

I have wanted to see the Olympic stadium for a long time, and this was the first place I went. I payed my entrance fee, and in I went. I was amazed to be walking around where the 1972 Olympics were held. I stayed a little while, and I decided I wanted to go see the Olympic swimming pool. I did this, and I just stood there and gazed, because this was the pool where American Mark Spitz won all of those gold medals. Pretty incredible feeling. I paid the entrance fee, and I swam a couple of laps in the pool. Very cool. I also went by the BMW museum, but I did not tour, for I have done this before.

I have wanted to visit a concentration camp, and there happened to be one in Dachau, which is very close to Munich. I found my way there, and after paying my entrance fee, I went in. Words can't describe what I felt. I shed some tears, because of the horror that had to have taken place at that location. You walk to the entrance, and you see the gate that says ARBEIT MACHT FREI which means "Work Hard Go Free". Yea right. This was not the case for most. I toured the entire facility for several hours. When I saw the crematoriums, I just was speechless. I could not imagine that so many people lost their lives right where I was at. Unbelievable feeling. After about four hours here, I made my way back to my place of stay in Heilbronn. I was tired and mentally exhausted afer the Dachau Concentration Camp visit.

I proceded to go back and forth to Baden-Baden a few times on this visit to Germany. As I had only booked for five days, I think I really fulfilled what I thought I would as far as this journey. I was a little homesick, but I also wanted to stay longer. All in all, this was a great experience, and I hope to come back again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 217, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb