I cook well


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
April 30th 2004
Published: April 30th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,
Today started out on a not so good foot.  We were late getting to class but we do know where studio will be held from now on and will no longer be late.  In all honesty these streets are not very clear, how many roads do you know that change names from one intersection to the next.  But it is in a very unique side of town.  They call it Traverse, it was a part of Rome where the less desirable people were living. They developed their own kind of architecture and style to this little area and when Roma open their arms to them they put on facades to better blend with other parts of Rome.  But it still has a very unique style, you know when you have entered that part of town.  But that is where we will be spending most of our studio hours and which will be most of the last two offical weeks in Rome.  Class is actually over on the 2nd and the 3rd is clean up. 
But onto more fun news.  As I predicted the snaky people who did not want anything to do with the Vactican Area now realize they will have to sleep someplace when the program is over.  They are kissing some major but to get the spaces open at the Vatican.  Good thing I have my own room  I do not have to share .... and I will be taking the other bed back into my room.  That is so Brandi will have a place to sleep.
But on to better news - we got an excellent review on first group project - the city analysis.  The even better news is I did not have to do much to get the grade.  It appears that my collegues suck at time mananagment and enjoy staying up  till the wee hours of the morning. We did not go over a game plan as I had suggested early in the week.  One of the girls (one that is using the term very loosly) deceided that would not be necessary and of course no one goes against her for fear of being outcast (kinda like I have) but I enjoy the quiet and not have to kiss the but of the PomPom Squad as I have dubbed them.  I cannont wait for Grad school.  I am only applying to the ones that have an average age of late 20's eary 30's  these kids drive me nuts.  I am sure you have noticed this in my last several postings.  So back to earlier this morning.  I left yesterday about 9:00 PM (I have a 45 minute walk home form there house) They wanted to take a two hour dinner break at this time.  Rather than someone volenteering to cook they told me I needed to find a place to go kill two hours and come back.  Well I told them very politely that was not going to work.  So I was walked to the Tiber River and walked the other 30 mintues by myself home.  If they had a metro stop by there house would not be so bad late a night.  But we had all the ideas for the project down, all the zeroing and photos that needed to be printed were done.  Three of us spent most of the day getting the needed pics and finding someplace to print them out. We started at 11:00 and did not get bavck till 4:00.  They had done nothing to start and all they had to do was go around the corner to the supply store.  We were not happy.  But they made up.  So by nine I had endured another several hours of them gossiping and me cutting out the pictures and sketches..... utter misery.  I had purposely chosen the group so I would not have to deal with Lauren and wouldn't you know she was the only one of the PomPom's that volentered to work with out group.  It all boils down to they were up till 3:00 AM and I was not.  But our project was a big hit, most nicely thought out and presented.  A bunch of perfectionist should not work together.  Too many Cheifs and not enough engines. 
Now the best part of the day.  It was my turn to return the group meal favor.  I cooked chicken breast, potatoes, carrots & onions in  white wine over rice with a homemade gravy from the broth that cooked everything.  It was a very big hit - as it was put by Robert that is a unbuckle the first knotch on you belt meal.  The guys were saying my mother has a recipe like this.  So I was very please.  I was concerned with cooking everything in the white wine and serving Red wine for dinner but they did not mind and at 1.80€ for a bottle of excellent red wine they requested who could complain. 
So I again got out of work, the men liked the meal so much Tomei and I did not have to do dished - they  voleentered to clean up.   So it was a very good day.
Ohhh the one down part was we had the dreaded roommate take.  Brian really doesn't have a lot of tact.  He is the guy everyone tricked into living with us at Vatican. So he opens with 'if I stay here this is my room' the room he is refering to is the communial living / dining room space.  Now picture most of the men have had a half a bottle of wine a piece and two of them are light weight drinkers.  From there the conversation went down hill.  We informed him of the communal space idea and that he was staying in a room that was not technically his or related to our appartment.  We also reminded him that technically there was not to be anyone in this room because his friends were suppose to make room for him at the vatican.  It ended on the note by Sunday he would either move into a bed room and behave like the rest of us or kindly find his way over to Vatican permenatnley. One draw back to that is he has the uno deck.  But he will find out as I am sure he is aware the 4thyear are not the uno type.  They have themselves increased the wine consupution in Roma themselves and there is only 8 of them now.  Today it was noted that they were still drunk and drinking at noon, they had started the night before.  I am making mental notes and will have to serously take a look at Jasmyn's friends before I would let her travel abroad.  There kids very disgracefull if their parents only knew how they behave here, they might have not ever paid the extra 3,000 this quarter for them to come.
Well I will talk to you later!!!!
So as you can see we are off to solving roommate problems and having a good time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb