Took Part in Yearly Festival


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 1st 2004
Published: May 1st 2004
Edit Blog Post

Primo MaggioPrimo MaggioPrimo Maggio

Every year they throw this party ... they are into their free concerts over here.
Hi All,
Today was fun,  It started with another migrane.  The weather here is so violent, one day clear and beautifull and the next is cloudy and gloom and raining.  But I was out of bed by late afternoon in time to enjoy the concert. See the link below.  Every year they have a concert on the first of May in celebration of Marx, well I do not think a lot of that was going on, but people we sure celebrating the beer makers.  I have never seen so much beer in one place in Italy.  Every where we go wine wine wine, but yesterday was a diffrent crowd.  Myself and Tomei found our way pretty close to the stage, thanks to my hand manouvaring though crowds.  So we had good views for about an hour ish.  Then the much younger set came in and I knew it was time to go and we did but we had to crawl through a whole lot more people on the way out. We caught most of the concert from the comfort of our livingroom but had to go down and "experince the culture"  something we are encourged a lot to do.  So I gave in and experinced.
Here is what I experinced;
Pot heads are in every culture. Between the group behind us and the group (all men) beside us you could get a pretty good contact high going... lol.  They were blaintent too.  I looked over my sholder after noticing a funny smell and and they (the group of boys) had a bright orange bong that they were passing around.  It was hallarious.  Then to the right they started lighting up.  That went on for a little while.  Then a canadian singer came on ...not the best it sounded like a cat dying at one point ... but some of the Italains were quite good.  And yes they can rap in other in langauges I witnessed it.  But for as much italain music that was played techno is still a favorite as we have heard in most places here.  It is funny, they listen to english music reguarly and have not a clue what it means but they can dance to it - so I guess they are the same as most of us.  We also listen to music that we have no clue what they are saying and we speak the langauge. 
Well that was most of my day short and sweet.  Yes I did stop off for Gelato, baccio and coconut, baccio is a brand of chocolate to die for.  But I noticed in my handy dandy little guide book that there is actually a flavor of gelato named "death by chocolate" so that is tommorrow,s mission as I am out sketching to catch up on the assignments that I am behind.  This place is said to be world renound for in the know connessours of ice cream - could be a colorfull truth by those over zelous tour guides also. 
But I did get the metro pass from Beatrice as she told us as the Vatican we would.  So I will be able to travel further in Rome than most of the people living in Campo di Fiore.  So I have a list of things I would like to do.  There is a hot air ballon that goes very high up and you can get beautifull areil shots.  That is on my list of things to do this week.  We have a long weekend comming up.  Not sure I am going to go anyplace.  Just might enjoy Rome, thinking of a Museum pass as my splurge this would get me to the front of the line as well as save a tone of money.  But I am trying to time it right they have a Klee exhibit comming to one of the museums on the pass, it is later this month.  So will see how that turns out. 
Talk to you later. 
http://www.primomaggio.it/

Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb