Roman Holiday


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
April 5th 2006
Published: April 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I still don't think I've recovered from Italy. I mean that as in being ridiculously tired form traveling and not as in being ridiculously drunk. We flew into "Milan" last Wednesday. I say "Milan" because I hate Ryanair and they should really list that airport as being an hour and half away from Milan. We (Jeff, Vanessa, and I) explored Milan for a fews hours until we had to catch a night bus to Rome. Milan had a lovely church called the Duomo but unfortunately, the front of it was covered for repairs. Other than that, Milan offered very expensive shopping. We arrived in Rome about 5 am in the morning and the hostal we booked was nice enough to let us take a quick nap until 11am. Rome was ABSOLUTELY wonderful. We went to the Vatican City first. The Pope has a pretty nice country there. I saw the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's. The Sistine was smaller than I expected but I think the movies make it look gi-normous. I got to see the Colosseum and the Pantheon lit up at night. It seems unbelievable to me to be walking down a back street at night in Rome and suddenly come upon a plaza with people relaxing and talking and BAM...there's the Pantheon. The sights were wonderful and so were the knock off purses and sunglasses for cheap. I got fake Chanel sunglasses for 10€ 😊 The food was so much better than Spain. They have little pizza joints down every street and I'm talking REAL pizza and really cheap too. The pasta was delicious and so was the gelato. The weather was perfect except for the fact that I looked like a lobster when I left due to my lack of using sunscreen...ouch.
We had to hop on a 6 hour train back to Milan on Saturday and finally arrived in the "Milan" airport around midnight. We slept in the airport on the cold floor (I'm really learning how to rough it out here) and then caught the 7am plane back to Sevilla (gah!). From Sevilla, I caught a train home and then passed out in my bed from exhaustion.
This week has been pretty tranquilo. We had a bday party to celebrate Jeff's b-day. He got so drunk he tried to eat my hair. Fortunately, I was sober and ran away. Tonight I catch a bus to Sevilla to meet up with the travel agency. I leave tomorrow morning at 5am for Morocco. I'll be there until Tuesday and then I will spend some time in Tarifa (a beach town) for a fews days. Wish me luck! I miss you guys a lot!

Advertisement



6th April 2006

Sleeping in Airports...
Yeah for restless nights on cold, hard, dirty, airport floors! Not to mention the damn noisy loudspeakers...anyway, let me know where you're staying tonight. Maybe we can share a taxi tomorrow to El Torre Del Oro? Sahara Desert - 48 hours and counting!
6th April 2006

Do you ever go to class? It sounds like you're always traveling. I was upset that I didn't get to talk to you on AIM the other day! I sat there for like 2 hours, and then went to take a shower. And of course that's when you tried to talk to me. You should call me sometime! I keep meaning to get a phone card so I can call you, but I'm too broke to buy anything right now.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb