Rome -- My Second Week!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

My RoommatesMy RoommatesMy Roommates

these are four of my roommates and two guys across the hall. All MSU students!
My second week in Rome is almost over. Again it feel like I've been here a lot longer. Probably since communication is very limited. The internet in my apartment works only past 1 in the morning and I don't have a phone. Well I bought an emergency phone the number is 335-764-1177. I think you ahve to add +39 on the front if it's international. I decided to get a phone cause it is kinda of scary here.

Things that are really different about Rome:

They have 2 mile long outdoor markets which smell really good (I think of mom everytime I walk by and how she'd being going nuts), you are suppose to drink from the fountains (I love that on my 5 miles walks), people here don't use turn signals and will drive so close to you they will hit you with their side mirrors, Italian men have never heard of deordarant and will ask you to go have a drink with them no matter what age they are, they food here is amazing, you never tip, among many many other things.

I had meat tortellini with prosciutto and peas the other day. It was pretty
My Other RoomateMy Other RoomateMy Other Roomate

This is Shala my roommate. She is super nice!
much the best thing I've eaten here. And don't even get me started on gelato. I don't know how I'm going to live without it. I've been walking by Vatican City for 2 weeks now and I'm still not bored of it. I still think it's the prettiest building I"ve ever seen. Even the fountains look fake. I always have to touch the pillars because they don't look really. I also have really started to hate tourists. They are everywhere and block up the paths so I have to walk in the street to school. I'm starting not to look like one anymore because people ask me for directions or talk to me in Italian. Then my cover is blown because I speak barely any Italian. I also met a Italian hobo version of dad. Would have taken a picture but I was too afraid.

I'm very excited for this weekend. We are going to Ventotene it's a small island away from the city. They have scuba diving and boat rentals. My roommates and Molly and her roommates are going. I hope I feel better I've been kinda sick the last two days I slept for 15 hours yesterday.
River BoatRiver BoatRiver Boat

Unofficial JCU party on the riverboat
I met the JCU activity coordinators who are really nice especially Sal who always buys Molly and I flowers and tiramisu.

I'm having a great time. And I finally got to see the colosseum when Alfredo asked if I and my friends would like to go to the club he DJed on a roof-top with a pool over looking the colosseum. You had to dress really fancy and drinks were 15 euro but it was worth it since we got in for free. I have cool pictures. Look below!

Miss you all!!
Nicole


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Me!Me!
Me!

Me being classy with my chocolate mint martini which is disgusting by the way
Me and MollyMe and Molly
Me and Molly

Molly and I finally meet up!
Molly's RoommatesMolly's Roommates
Molly's Roommates

Molly's Roommates and myself
ColosseumColosseum
Colosseum

the Colosseum at night
Crazy ItaliansCrazy Italians
Crazy Italians

These are the first really tall Italian guys I met
Open MarketOpen Market
Open Market

It goes for 2 miles!


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb