When In Rome...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 8th 2008
Published: July 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Rome!

Sara here. Just wanted to leave a quick blog to let you all know that we made it here to Rome and are LOVING our hostel, which is actually more like a resort and comes complete with a supermarket, bar, restaurant, free internet, and swimming pool...and a 4 bed private room for €10 a night! I love Italy. Anyway, funny story about getting here. Leah and I made it to the train station and were initially going to take a 1:52PM train to Rome, but it was about 1:05 and we saw one for 1:20pm which was a lot more appealing. So we stood in line for the online ticketing thing, which took forever because the group in front of us was totally clueless. Anyway, we had about 5 minutes until our train was leaving and Leah booked her ticket and I was booking mine, but the next available train was different than Leah's...which she had already bought. So I took it anyway and we booked it to our train. Unfortunately, the one time we have different tickets this train is absolutely packed, so I didn't have a seat, so I settled down in a tiny little space between two train compartments...comfy right? So the ticket guy is coming around a checking our tickets and tells me that I have to pay an extra €12 for the reservation on this train, since I didn't get on the train I was supposed to. Ended up paying €50 for an hour and a half train ride from Florence to Rome...which made me a bit grumpy. However, I've had a shower, been able to enjoy our living spaces, and send messages courtesy of free internet. Leah also bought me a Fanta at the supermarket to make me feel better :D So I'm in a much better mood now. Tomorrow we are off to Vatican City to spend the day with our pal, the Pope. Hurrayyyy! Lots of love to everyone...and a P.S. to anyone in my family who might appreciate this: they're playing Amr Diab's 'Habibi Wala Ala Bali' in the restaurant while I'm on the computer. Teehee. Ciaociao!

Advertisement



12th July 2008

dude seriously. where is your hostel? I can't seem to find decent hostels in rome...
12th July 2008

Hostels in Rome
We are staying at a camping hostel outside of the main city. It kind of sucks to get there; you can't just step outside and go somewhere, you have to take a shuttle to the train station then it's about a half an hour ride to the center of the city. But the hostel is great, there is free internet and is generally just a good place to stay. It's called Camping Tiber, I would recommend it!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb