Roma... again


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 15th 2008
Published: May 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Spanish StepsSpanish StepsSpanish Steps

good idea to come here early
We woke up SUPER early to get an early start to the ENTIRE day walking around Rome. We made our way to the Vatican, but made stops along the way at the Spanish Steps and the Piazza del Popolo. It was pretty sad that they were setting up for something in the Piazza, and that there was a Police party going on... celebrating their birthday. However, we did get to see the Lamborghini police car. From the Vatican, we walked to Saint Angelo Castle, The Angel Bridge, Palazzo Navona (and that fountain was being restored... talk about bad luck on the site seeing), Campo dei Fiori, Area Sacra, Pantheon, and everything in between. Close to Palazzo Navona we grabbed some granitas (David lemon, me Latte di Mandorle/Almond Milk ), as well as some really good sandwiches. I got David to try some speck, which I think he liked. It is a type of lunch meat... but I don't know a single type in the US that I can compare it to. Closest to prosciutto, but completely different taste. We walked all over again, made our way to Palazzo del Popolo again, and walked through the park which is a bit more north of it. Afterwhich we made our way to the Trastevere area, where we had aperitivo and dinner. I got David to try spritz made with campari (which is white wine, sparkling soda and campari, with an orange thrown in) which, with fruit and bright red color, looks totally like a girly drink, but he was extremely surpised by the bitter campari taste. For dinner, David dined on Pasta Carbonara, and I on arrabbiata (translated means pissed off, but really it's just a spicy tomato sauce). After this, we went to the Colosseum to see it at night. We then had to walk ALL the way back to the hotel, after which I was lamenting everything. But David supported it, and I survived, and we called it a night.
The next morning, we woke up and walked to the more southern part of the center, to the Terme Caracalla. On the way, we stopped by the Piazza Vittorio Emanuele, Saint Giovanni Church, and Via Appia (which connects Rome to Brindisi ). I think both of us liked the Saint Giovanni Church more than the Vatican, even though the Vatican is very impressive, it is swarming constantly with people, and seems almost disrespectful. On the other hand, this church was also impressive, but less confusion of tourism. We made our way back to trastevere to eat a huge lunch... David had a pasta similar to pasta carbonara but without the eggs, followed by grilled lamb. I had pasta I dont remeber what and some type of cutlet (still can't figure out of what) cooked with white wine and lemon. We then walked around some more, had another cocktail at Piazza Navona, and made our way back to Trastevere area to eat some really good pizza. We had some after dinners drinks there, where I had David try the Amaro "del Capo" as well as a Grappa (which the bar tender suggested "della Valle" [that is, if I heard correctly). We made it back somewhat early because we had to wake up early that morning to get David back to the airport. We parted ways at the train station, and here we are at the end of my brother's first trip to Italy! I returned back to my home here, and am peacefully enjoying relaxing here.
Sending my wishes, especially to Uncle Mike. Congrats!


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

ahhh pietà! ahhh pietà!
ahhh pietà!

my favorite statue EVER
taking a breaktaking a break
taking a break

Here is where the old Italian lady came up to us and goes "Why are all these people here!?!?!" and "Where are you from!?!" and after telling her we were from the US, she goes "Well why are you speaking Italian!?!? How do you speak Italian!?"
Found this...Found this...
Found this...

the "Our godfather"... speaking of the Mafia set to the Our Father
Campo dei FioriCampo dei Fiori
Campo dei Fiori

...I think I took this exact same picture last time I was here...


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb