Different strokes


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 18th 2005
Published: October 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Trevi fountainTrevi fountainTrevi fountain

So much more beautiful in person
Here still in Roma. I went to the Sistine chapel today. it was so beyond belief magnificent. I have never seen anything this wonderful in my life. The art of Michaelangelo just blew me away. Such detail, and the ability to make everything jump out at you. He captures the (naked) male body in a way no one else can. He must have done a lot of "studying" to perfect it in such a way (note, allegedly he was a celibate gay guy who studied the young men in the fields). Ironically he doesnt quite have the expertise with the female body...maybe just no interest. So after I was done, I wanted to go on a free tour (I am all about all things free) but of course it was cancelled for some reason today. So I wandered around, tried to find a market that of course was closed for siesta. Then I realized everything was closed for a siesta. I was kinda hungry so i decided to look for some food. Nothing looked appealing, so of course gelato was the obvious winner. I think it should be an honorary food group. And so while all the places I want to
Vatican Vatican Vatican

I think I like this picture because of the PAZ symbol
go to are closed, I have decided to spend my siesta updating my fans...you didnt know you were a fan did you?

Yesterday when I went to St. Peters Basillica for mass, there was an enormous line and i only had 15 minutes to spare. So i walked up to the front and started waving at someone at the front of the line. I even kinda yelled, ok I'll see you inside! is it wrong to cut to get into church? I didnt feel so guilty. So today instead I waited in a line. I am such a good citizen. Speaking of avoiding unpleasant things...today I actually bought socks to avoid doing laundry. how sad. Is that a new low?

Well, I guess that is all I have to report from Rome. this place kinda sucks the life out of you. there is just so much to see and everything is sooo far from each other which involves miles upon miles of walking. So tonight I am hoping to do a pub crawl, will probably pass by the same middle eastern man who tells me "i lova you" every day, and will probably get some pizza from the
So beautifulSo beautifulSo beautiful

I have a crush on Michaelangelo
lady will cut with scissors.

So whats going on at home? Anything exciting?
love to all!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



18th October 2005

michaelangelo
he actually studied cadavers. kinda sick, but no pesky moving subjects!

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb