Rome - Day 2 - My mind is boggled!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 21st 2007
Published: October 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Castel Sant 'AngeloCastel Sant 'AngeloCastel Sant 'Angelo

How strong does this look ?
Today , I thought that I would take the hop on hop off tour bus around the city and opted for the 48 hour ticket as this would let me stop at each monument and have a good look around before hopping on the next bus and I could take longer time. What a great idea that turned out to be!!

First of all, I didn’t get off at the first stop, or the second, third, etc. I was so taken with everything that I saw that I stayed on for the complete trip and then stayed on and started again.

First stop was the Castel Sant Angelo - Wow, what an impressive looking building that is. It looks so tough, no wonder it had been used as a stronghold to keep enemies out. I think it may have been my favourite sight, after the Pantheon.

St Peter’s was next and from the top of the bus you could just see a sea of people going towards it. I was so glad I was on the bus because I don’t think I would have the patience for those kinds of crowds.

A get together had been planned
Castel Sant'AngeloCastel Sant'AngeloCastel Sant'Angelo

Another view of this impressive building
for some members from Tripadvisor, the online travel forum that I joined. We had arranged to meet at The Fiddlers Elbow to watch the Rugby World Cup, but seeing as though Australia and New Zealand weren’t playing, we had a few beers and decided to go for dinner somewhere else. Our group consisted of Mike and Debbie from the US, Clare from NZ but living in Aus, myself, and Daniella and Cinzia from Rome. What a great bunch of people, I am sure that I have made friends for a long long time.

Dinner was nice, a selection of fried vegetable type things similar to Tempura, and then pasta, and of course wine!

After dinner Cinzia went home as she had to work the next morning, but Daniella, who I think likes a party or two, convinced the rest of us to go to a bar for another drink. Wow, what a bar!! It ws in fact a "Cultural Club", very tiny and you have to ring the doorbell to be let in. If they don't like the look of you, they don't let you in. Anyway, I am now a member for life apparently !!

I
ColloseumColloseumColloseum

Amazing!
didn't back to my room until 2:30am and had to be up at 5:30am for my "Skip the Line" Vatican Museum Tour. Boy was I tired, but I had such a good time, and meeting my tripadvisor friends was a real highlight!






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Colloseum againColloseum again
Colloseum again

I was overwhelmed to see this
New friendsNew friends
New friends

Drinks before dinner
TripAdvisor GroupTripAdvisor Group
TripAdvisor Group

My new friends!
St Peter'sSt Peter's
St Peter's

View of St Peter's from the Tour Bus


24th October 2007

your trip
Hi Diane, We are home from our 2 week trip away and are catching up with you on yours so sorry to hear about the robbery, I have only ever been mugged in Canberra. but then pleased that you are still going on with the trip and meeting some wonderful people. Hope the rest of the trip is just fun no more nasty stuff you have worked too long for this trip to have it spoilt. 3 weeks till we move out talk soon

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb