Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 1st 2007
Published: October 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Heyy.

Phoebe Here - We are off the ship. Sad, I know. It was one spectacular ship, all 120,000 tones of it. We finished our trip on the cruise ship with three more destinations. Our first one was Dubrovnik. Getting off the ship we took a shuttle bus to the old town of Dubrovnik. We walked round the town and took in the sights and sounds. We exchanged some euros for the Croatian currency Kuna. (Dad reckoned it was kronks… Weird I know.) We then got an ice cream and looked at the nicest chocolate ever Bajadela. It wasn’t long before we purchased and then devoured it. Our next stop was Venice the water city. The city was on very grotty water. It wasn’t pretty, but it was amazing. It made me sad to think the marvelous city was sinking. It won’t sink in my life time, but it was sad all the same. Feeding the pigeons was a definite highlight, for there were thousands and thousands. Bird food was available and if the pigeons saw you with it they attacked. Sure, it sounds scary. But I wasn’t really and at the end of the day an extremely loyal pigeon sat on my shoulder almost the whole way from St.Marks square to the shuttle boat. (Around 500 meters.) We were back on the boat and this was our last night on it. In the morning, while eating breakfast on the ship we saw the view of entering Bari. Not the nicest view for Bari is an ugly city. We caught a four hour train to Roma from Bari and so here I am my second day in the ancient city of Rome. It’s crowed and noisy, But its historical value exceeds that. Today we went to the famous Trevi fountain, the Pantheon and the Vatican.

Pictures are included. Hope you are all well and happy birthday for the 30th Sarah & Georgia! 

Lots Of Love,

Phoebe!



Hello everybody
We got off the cruise ship yesterday. After we got off the ship we got on a train to Rome. The wait for the train was two hours. The train journey was four and a half hours. Then we walked from the train station to our hotel. The walk was not that far, but my legs hurt after. Luckily, there was a nice restaurant just around the corner. My mum and dad said there are a lot of pickpockets in Rome. We saw the trevi fountain. We saw a lot of statues around Rome. I had another ice cream today. It’s a bit confusing here because all of the people speak Italian but most of them speak a little bit of English. My family also saw the Vatican. It is a BIG building. I saw the Pantheon too. There is a big hole in the roof. But it is there on purpose. I wonder what it is like when it rains. The hotel we are staying at is called ‘Hotel Des Artistes’.
On our last day on the cruise ship, we stopped in Venice. We saw loads of pigeons there. I offered to feed a packet to the little critters. The pigeons came swooping at me even before I opened the packet. I had ten hanging on each arm, like a handbag hanging off my arm. There was one particular bird that enjoyed sitting on my head. It felt like a hair brush digging into my head lightly. Their nails scratched my arms. I had scratches all over my arms, like major emo, but they (mostly) disappeared by the end of the day. The birds didn’t seem scared of us. Our room smells musty. The cruise ship was a whole lot nicer. Each day we got a leaflet about what was happening the next day and when we got hungry in the middle of the day you could just walk into the buffet and grab some food. Ever day I had bacon for brekkie. At dinner we didn’t have to worry about the price of anything since it was all pre paid, and I could just go off on my own until dinner time.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb