Roma!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 25th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Rome to scorching heat - I don't handle heat well, especially not without a beach nearby! Anyway, I took a walk in the evening, decided to just get a feel of the city.

I walked into the path of the Colosseum, so I thought, heck, why not just go in and take a look? And as I was heading back to the hostel, I walked right into the piazza where the Trevi Fountain was.

That basically sums up what walking in Rome is like; if you let yourself wander, you just find yourself infront of yet another amazing Baroque building, in a gorgeous piazza, or in front of a massive fountain. I loved this part of Rome - and I love that they are still finding gems (ruins) right beneath their city, wherever they start digging.

I made a vow to have gelati pretty much everyday of my trip there - and glad to say I succeeded without really twisting my arm too much! I've never been to anywhere else in Italy but so far this place has the best ice-cream EVER. The bacio is a must-have, as is the chocolato. And the limone. And the fruits of the forest. Haha. I had quite a sampling.

Most Romans speak a lot better English than the Spanish - it was quite refreshing, to say the least. Even those in the service or tourist industry, who are usually expected to speak English anyway - have a better grasp of the language than the Spanish. Despite that, I do like to make an effort to speak the local language but I found myself coming up with Spanish most of the time - which isn't too bad as most Italians seem to understand or speak it anyway. I bought a bottle of water from the local bar near the hostel and only when I left did I realise that I'd spoken Spanish to the guy at the counter - and he had responded in Spanish!

Really enjoyed this city, 4 days was quite enough to see most of the tourist attractions but I had really wanted to see alot more than that. Oh well, I did throw a coin into the Trevi so here's hoping I go back soon!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Holes in the pillarsHoles in the pillars
Holes in the pillars

Apparently from lead clamps being pillaged in the 9th century
The Trevi FountainThe Trevi Fountain
The Trevi Fountain

With the first of my many gelati in Italy. Woo!
Ara PacisAra Pacis
Ara Pacis

Designed by Richard Meier
Back at the TreviBack at the Trevi
Back at the Trevi

My last-ditch effort in getting back to Rome soon; threw a coin in the fountain!


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb