Last Days in Rome...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 31st 2007
Published: May 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

My last days in Rome have been amazing. We spent a rainy day at a Catacomb, which was very creepy and felt sad to me. But I am glad I had the experience. Then we went to Ostia Antica which was amazing and I think is a good prelude to Pompeii. We went on a tour in the rain and then were free to explore the ruins. There is something so beautiful about seeing the way people lived thousands of years ago, everything was so simple and beautiful. You could almost imagine them in their daily lives.
The next day we woke up very early to go listen to the Pope speak. A couple of us watched him enter and then left (sorry Nanny and Dad) so we could cut the line to the Sistine Chapel. Which we did, there was no line at all which is unheard of. The whole Vatican museum was very beautiful and the Sistine Chapel was amazing. I could have spent days in there, but we were rushed through in about an half an hour. It is amazing to see someone's passion just there for the world to see. After the museum we had a great lunch and rested a bit. Then we went to Piazza di Poppolo which was also fabulous. There are two churches so we spent time in each one appreciating the modern art in the ancient churches. Lisa adventured out with me to a vegetarian place, which was on the fourth floor of an office buiding. It was good food and an interesting experience.
Today we toured the Sinagoga Ashkenazita which gave us an insight into another religious experience. We had our farewell lunch (roman artichokes yum). Then I got lost again and found myself at Basilico San Giovani which was breathtaking. I am learning to love getting lost.
Tonight I am meeting up with a friend who just got to town today. Then I am off to Sorrento and Pompeii and Capri tomorrow!!!! I am so excited for my next adventures. Many people here are getting home sick, but I think I will be Rome sick when I leave (I do miss you all but this experience is too good for words). More soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb