Moving Along


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
March 27th 2007
Published: March 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

well after getting a wee bit side tracked this morning with the loss of my passport i am slowly getting back to normal! after going to the embassy, photo shop and polizia station to fill out numerous forms, getting pictures taken and filing a police report, i finally emerged to a thunderstorm. so i figured i'd take it easy and use the internet for a while and get a real update on the go.

So Sunday in London was great, went out first thing in the morning to the British Museum. I found myself a little bored, because after going to all the Smithsonian museums in Washington, these were basically more of the same. The Rosetta stone was cool (how they figured out the ancient Egyptian language or something) and there were lots of cool things to see there like mummies and sculptures etc. but once you've seen one bronze pot, you've seen them all. So I didn't spend too much time there.

Then I headed over to the Natural History Museum which was a bit more interesting. The dinosaurs were unreal! So huge, and the whales, and bears, and zebras, etc etc. Very impressed. They also had a big humans section with all kinds of monkeys and primitive humans. But again I had seen a lot of similar stuff in Washington so that one didn't take too long either.

I met up with Lori after that and went for a walk on the south bank of the Thames. Saw the Eye, Big Ben, Westminster, Globe Theatre, and all hte bridges. Then we went into the Tate Modern, which was interesting, but I am totally not into art so it didn't take too long either.

Then it was to bed early Sunday night to get up at 430 Monday to get to the airport on time. Or so I thought. I ordered a wake up call, but of course no one woke me. So at 530, in a stuporous daze I rushed through the streets of London, caught the tube, made a mad dash for the train, and got to Stansted with plenty of time to spare. Ryanair is pretty efficient, if rude. And they play the same 3 minutes of advertisements on loop practically the whole time. And having had no time to prepare in teh morning, i was a dirtbag wearing the same clothes 2 days in a row, no shower, no shave. So i was a treat to behold on arrival in Rome!

Managed to find the bus to city centre and then walked to the hostel which thankfully was easy to find. My room is in a separate building a few blocks from the main place where the internet and breakfast is, but its quiet and nice. So this morning I got up early to head to the Colosseum, Forum and all the other ancient Roman sites. But of course the pickpockets had better plans and thats enough about that.

I'm hoping the rain lets up a bit later so I can get out and see some of the buildings at night and gets some nice pictures (and keep my camera from getting stolen??? Knock wood). I have all the luck.

This is getting too long - until next time!

Jason

PS I LOVE PIZZA!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.344s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb