Rome : Day 1 and 2


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
January 29th 2007
Published: February 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Italy8Italy8Italy8

The Vatican
What an amazing experience this is going to be. I am already having an amazing time. I am meeting so many girls. We all get along great, and all share the passion of traveling and adventure.
My flights went very smoothly. I arrived in Rome at 8am. We arrived at our hotel at around 9:30 in the morning. Hotel is amazing. A lot nicer than I would have ever expected. API is a great program to use for studying aboard. They do everything they can to help our transition go smoothly. In Rome, all the API students, went on a walking tour of the Historical center of Rome, the Vatican, St Peter's Church, Sistine Capel, the Collosieum, and acient ruins. Our hotel was so beautiful and in central Rome. It was very easy and quick to walk around the city. The coffee is different, usually they order a cafe latte, or just essperro and stand up at a bar and drink it. Normally no one gets coffee to go. Also, Italian vehicles are very small. So many people have the "smart" cars, or motor bikes, or really small cars. They drive very different here, They weave in and out of traffic.
Italy12Italy12Italy12

St Peters Basilica
When i am walking down the small alley streets, because you would think cars would not be allowed down them but they some how fit. My favorite part of Rome was St Peter's church. It is the largest church. I would never be able to describe how big it really is. No picture would ever be able to visual display it. The art and architechure is breathtaking. I wish i could have spent the whole day there. I have taken so many photographs already. I am up to 500. I will be uploading some of them in the next week. It seems that everywhere I turn I want to take another picture. All of Rome's buildings have so much meaning and history behind them, and look so beautiful I just want to remember everything forever. I am glad I decided to take a lot of memory cards, and rechargable batteries, but I have definately used them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Italy15Italy15
Italy15

My Friends and I outside the Vatican Doors.
Italy9Italy9
Italy9

The Vatican
Italy10Italy10
Italy10

The Pathenon
Italy11Italy11
Italy11

The Wedding Cake
Italy13Italy13
Italy13

St Peters Basilica
Italy14Italy14
Italy14

St Peters Basilica


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb