Bilten, Switzerland to Rome, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 6th 2018
Published: July 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Woke at 7:30 this morning to get organised as I needed to walk to the local train station, get a ticket and catch the 8:30 train to Zurich airport. Manuela had already left for work by the time I got up. So grateful that I was able to stay the night at her house and wish it could have been for longer.

Got to the train station without it raining and after a bit of hit and miss, I think I bought the right ticket. The train arrived on time and I only had to travel to the next station. From this station I could get a fast train to the airport. I only had a 10 minute wait and then the train arrived. It was about an hour to get to the airport and even though my flight wasn't until 12:40pm, I wanted to give myself plenty of time. Which I did! Check in was relatively easy and I realised I now had 2 and half hours before my flight was due to depart. Found a place to get a coffee and a bite to eat - over 10 Euros later, I had a mediocre coffee and an apricot cake that was kind of like a cross between a muffin and a friand.

Time was killed....... plane departure was delayed ...... life in an airport is the same no matter what country you are in! I did however have a bit of fun when going through the security check. I had a plastic bottle of face wash, that I normally wouldn't have in my hand luggage but when I do the final check at Manuela's, it was in the shower. I put it into a plastic ziplock bag but I could take that through as it was over 100mls. Then my handbag got stopped - I had forgotten about my water bottle doh! The man was very nice though and we had a bit of a laugh about it, with me blaming my muddled brain with this cold. I was about to walk off when a lady asked this other man if he had left his iPad in the container you out your things in to be scanned. No, that was mine!

We boarded 20 minutes late and then when we thought we were ready to go, the captain advised that due to one passenger who had been sitting in the lounge rather than boarding on time, turned up just as they were about to remove his luggage. This made us miss our window to depart by 1 minute so we had to sit there for a further 20.

We eventually left 40 minutes late and unlike the Perth to Sydney flights, they didn't make up time. Arrived in Rome Fumancino airport at 3pm and by the time I got my luggage, bought a ticket for the Leonardo Express and traveled the 30 mins to Rome Termini station it was now 4:30pm.

I decided to walk to my apartment, which is located near the Colosseum even though I knew it was a 25 minute walk and was about 30 degrees outside. I must have been mad! Didn't I learn from Copenhagen! Obviously not. I was met by the people looking after the AirBnB I booked, outside the building - I must have looked a sight! Anyway, they were lovely and helped me with my luggage and wow - I am very, very happy with this place I am on the 3rd floor but they have a little lift, which is great for the luggage. I have a balcony and two bedrooms - Janine will join me in 2 days it also has 2 bathrooms, a lovely kitchen living area and a laundry.

After unpacking, sorting myself out and settling in, I started to get hungry I hadn't eaten much today as the head cold has made me lose my appetite so I thought I would wander around the 'hood and get my bearings and see what's around. The lady that owns this place has left a list of good restaurants, shops, bars and sights to see which will be handy. I found the supermarket but was so hungry by this stage I left the shopping until later and found the trattoria she had recommended.

I had a ensalada mista and then the penne arrabaiata- with some aqua minerale con gasse and vino rosso. All delicious and exactly what I needed - and all for 13 Euro which is a good price these days (especially when compared to the airport breakfast I had!)

After dinner I thought I would go for a walk around the Colosseum - wow, mind blown! I knew it was spectacular but nothing prepares you for the first glimpse when you step out from around the corner and there it is in all its glory. I walked halfway round and then came to the Roman Forum - once again, amazing! I have been to Rome since I first came here on Contiki but I don't think I came back to this area those times so seeing all this again certainly took me back to that wonderful holiday with a few people that are still my very good friends.

After a wander looking at the forum (from the outside) I continued my walk around the Colosseum. The light was fading and the lights of the Colosseum were staring to come on. It was even more spectacular! I must have got carried away taking photos and wasn't aware that the battery on my phone was running out. Anyway, it died so I decided to walk back to the apartment, stopping off first to get some supplies from the supermarket. Then it hit me - I couldn't remember the exact door I needed to enter the apartment complex by! I knew the street (phew) but not the number so ended up walking up to doors and trying the key. I eventually got the key to work - in a door I thought was the right one but the first time I had tried it didn't work. Yay! Home sweet home. Just watched Belgium beat Brazil and will try to catch up the blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb