Measuring up to Memory


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Castel Gandolfo
June 10th 2011
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Italian SunsetItalian SunsetItalian Sunset

The sunset from the roof of Casa Mennasiana. Quintessential Italy... gorgeous
It is strange, but, last time I left Walsh University’s campus in Castel Gandolfo, Casa Mennesianna (what we simply yet affectionately called, “The Casa”), in 2008, I wasn’t sure I would ever be back. It feels so good.

Campus is as gorgeous as I remember it. It is nice to see my romanticized memory isn’t very far off at all. I can’t wait to see what I remember of Rome. Alissa and I tried to sneak up to the roof before the swarms of singers discover its simple yet impressive beauty, but were thwarted by the cleaning staff on the third floor. So, we walked down to the olive orchard and back. I think we have shared some of the melancholic feelings that the start of the trip has brought. It was nice to escape with her for at least a short amount of time.

Lunch was good. Spicy pasta, beef and mushrooms, and spinach. The wine is delicious and a nice addition to the meal, making me feel more like I am in Europe. I have so many amazing memories of this cafeteria, many involving the wine, one long table, and hours of eating filled with laughter that
The CasaThe CasaThe Casa

Walsh University's campus in Castel Gandolfo, just outside Rome
lasted long after the food was gone. Alissa and I helped fratel Giovanni set up for lunch. It was fun and reminded me how much I actually like fumbling through the gesture-filled “conversation” trying to communicate across cultures and languages, as frustrating as it may be. Afterwards, Dave, Melanie, Alissa and I played cards outside. Melanie announced that she didn’t feel like she was in Italy yet, and I agreed, along with Alissa. Other than the little Italian I’ve heard and the encounter with fratel Giovanni, it feels like Walsh.

Alissa and I led the group to the main square in Castel. It feels good to remember this walk and share it with my friends and the choir. Apparently I was a little too comfortable and practically ran up the hill
forcing the others to strain to keep up… I guess it’s hard to turn off my travel mode after all. When I turned the corner the church in the main square is covered in scaffolding… oh, Europe. It hurts to see the square without the facade of that beautiful pink church, but so many memories are still standing with no need for repair and there are many more to come in the next few weeks.

No one in the group is even trying to speak Italian. Everyone should know at least thank-you. It is frustrating. Just learn common courtesies, please, that’s all you need. I feel like this is how most Americans tour. I say tour because I don’t think it is travel unless you embrace the culture that in exists in the place you are traveling. I want to sit everyone down and teach them to respect other cultures and learn few words of damn Italian!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Foliage of ancient RomeFoliage of ancient Rome
Foliage of ancient Rome

This is the walk to the olive orchard... lined with trees that the Roman soldiers used for shade... About the most beautiful peaceful place I have been.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb