Venice... WAA


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Friuli-Venezia Giulia » Trieste
March 27th 2007
Published: March 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey all!!

Just got back a couple hours ago from Venice with Nicole. Wow. So I got up early yesterday and caught the train to Venice. Nicole said she would meet me at the train station at 11 am. So I waited for her... And waited some more. I waited over 2 hours. By then I thought... You know what? She probably missed her plane or something and I don't have a phone for her to get a hold of me soooo... Crapola? I walked to a Internet Cafe to see if maybe she had emailed me to say she'd missed her plane. Nope. No email from my cousin. So I walk back to the train station and there she is with her Asolo pack and her mother of a purse looking exhausted and really confused. "Where the (insert rude word here) where you!?!" I greeted her. HAHA. Well. She was 1 hour behind since she was coming from Ireland, plus the plane was late, plus the bus didn't leave when it was suppose to and then she had to run over from the bus station to the train station. In her heels no less.

So blah blah blah. We got to our hostel, dropped off our stuff and went out for pizza and some beer for Nicole. (She's a beer-a-maniac). Then we went back to the hostel. Had a siesta, she woke me up by throwing her sandal at my head (yeah thanks a lot Nicky!). Got ready to go out and left determined to find somewhere to dance. Walked for a bit and decided to get directions asked a couple of guys (since they looked like locals) and they gave us directions. They asked us if we needed help getting there and we said no. They followed us down the road and said that they wanted to go to the disco tech too and said they could walk us. I said sure because I thought we'd get lost again like we did earlier when there was DAYLIGHT! These 2 were from Greece, Zat and Cameron. Cameron didn't know a lot of English and he looked like what I would imagine a Grecian man would look like (think Gladiator), blond and stocky. Zat looked the opposite, darker skinned and dark hair. We walked around for what seemed like hours (which it very well might have been) and finally found the disco tech, but it was all but abandoned. We needed to sit so we decided to go in and at least have a drink. Zat was a little too forward about things. Asking us if we'd have sex with them ect ect and not really giving it up. So needless to say, although we didn't feel the least bit in danger because they didn't seem dangerous, just kind of dumb (in the way that Zat didn't get no means no. period.) that we decided to head home ASAP. We made a lame excuse of having a curfew at the hostel and said goodnight. Left them at the bus station and walked back to the hostel ourselves. So not the nicest time in Venice. But the city itself is pretty nice. And no cars!! Hurray!

We took the train back to Trieste and got in the car with a couple of guys. We didn't say anything to them, they sat across from us in the isle. I fell asleep and I was woken up by being asked in Italian if I spoke Italian. I told him no sorry. Just English. So he asked me in English if he could take a picture of Nicole and I (Nicole was oblivious to the world since she was text messaging.) I said sure, elbowed her and told her to smile. The two guys ended up being super nice. They were both from Sicily and we all shared our music with each other. Headphone chords crisscrossing all over. Do you like this? Aw! This is awesome! haha it was fun. One's name was Leo and the other's name I have forgotten. They got off the stop before ours. We went to Uncle Igor's restaurant and had fried cheddar and meat for lunch. It's Auntie Brenda's birthday today so we'll have to see what we get up to...

I'm very sorry to report that Alessio, the man who got in the car accident, was taken off of life support yesterday because he was pronounced brain dead. So please send love and comfort to his family, friends and to Allison his girlfriend. He seems like he was an amazingly wonderful person and that he will be greatly missed.

So I have heard back from 5 farms so far. 2 of whom I really wanted to go to. One is in Montchamp, France. It is an educational farm where young kids come 4 days a week and learn about alternate living. You get a weeks training on working the farm independently and then you work with the kids!! You help them garden and help with crafts and things, milk goats and all sorts of exciting things!! That one interests me most, but it seems like there is a commitment time needed of 6-12 months. But maybe they will have me for a month? We'll see. The other one is a women's only camp in Brittany. That one sounds good too. There is one in Le Bugue that the women who emailed me seems really awesome and even though it's just gardening at the moment I think her energy makes me want to go farm there then both of the other farms... haha.

Anyways, I'll keep you guys updated... We're off for birthday dinner!

Love you guys!!

Stephka

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb