Trip to Rimini and San Marino


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna
April 7th 2007
Published: April 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In the beginning of the semester I decided that I wanted to travel Italy. That was one of the reasons that I wanted to study in Italy. I am very very very glad that I decided to see as much of Italy as I could because I have seen amazing places. I have experience so many different cultures, art, architecture, food, wine, beer, people, and traveling just inside Italy. This weekend we went to Rimini (which is on the east coast of Italy) and San Marino (which is it's own state in Italy). We had a great time. The best part of Rimini was the sandy, gorgeous open beach with the beautiful blue Adriatic Sea as far as we could see. We arrived in Rimini on Friday afternoon. We checked into our Hostel, which was conveniently close to the beach, and we to a great locals restaurant down the street. I had a really good cheese pizza and a great German beer. Then we walked down the beach for a good hour and stumbled upon a frisbee tournament. It was an huge international tournament of different ultimate frisbee teams. We watch a few games and enjoyed sitting in the sun on the beach. If I had never traveled to Rimini I would have never know that they had beaches like that in Italy. We could tell that the beach in the summer is packed and a great place that Italians can vacation to. On Saturday took a bus to San Marino. It is a great place for shopping, a great panaramic view of Rimini, and the surrounding cities. We just strolled through the streets, grab lunch, and shopped. The rest of the weekend we relaxed on the beach, and ate a lot of pizza. Rimini was a fun and inexpensive city. I was really happy that we found it.
Something I have noticed this last week is that I have reached the peak of excitement for my study abroad experience. I am really excited about my upcoming trips, and the time I have left to spend with the great friends I have made here but I am ready to go home but I if I would be going home next weekend I would be ready. I have seen, learned, and experienced so much, explored Florence and Italy, I have made amazing friends, eaten at incredible and unforgetable restaurants, I have learned how to cook great Italian dishes, I have learned a new language, I have embraced the Italian culture, and feel like that is all that this trip will offer me. I still hold my head high and my eyes open to new adventures, and hopefully that the next month will offer me the best experience I have had yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb