Le Lezioni


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Bologna
February 20th 2010
Published: February 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

So i've been meaning to write about classes, and i keep forgetting because more interesting things have come up instead of classes. but here we go, finally.

So the first month I only had intensive italian class. monday through thursday it was 9:30 to 1 (with a 15 minute break in between) and friday we had exams. it was kind of brutal, not because it was difficult, but because it’s hard to a) sit in the same class for that long and b) try to pay attention to grammar rules for that long. That covered three and a half weeks--and while sitting in the classroom for 3 1/2 hours was difficult (that sounds pathetic but it seemed so long when you were there).

In February the Unibo (the nickname for the University) classes started--well, some of them. The set up of Unibo classes is so different from the US that it is hard to even comprehend how it makes sense. In the spring semester there are 3 cycles of classes. I'm taking Storia Contemporanea (Modern History) and it started in the 1st Cycle, which runs from Feb 1 to March 5 or so. Each class is 2 hours long and meets three times a week. So for 5 weeks basically I have 6 hours of contemporary history a week. After the last class I have at least a month until the exam, because Italian universities are set up so that all the work for the class is done after the class. I don't understand. Two hours, by the way, is extremely long for a class, especially in Italian. Although, my Storia Contemporanea class is typically only an hour and a half. We don’t start till 5:15, to give students from other classes time to get there (since Unibo has no campus, classes are all over the city) and typically end by 6:45.

The ECCO classes are set up far more like American universities--since the program is an American one. I’m taking two classes at ECCO—Modern Italian Art and Urban Studies (which is sort of architecture history of Italian cities). I think I may have made a mistake and instead of Urban Studies I may have done better taking Modern Italian History, since I am very interested in that, and have a good basis in it already. But with the Urban Studies class we learn about different Italian cities and then go visit them, which is sweet. And since all my classes count as P/F it doesn’t really matter as long as I pass them. These classes are 2 hours each twice a week, but we get a 10 minute break in the middle, which is a nice break from all that Italian.

We also have to take a half credit Writing Workshop (which matches with the half credit intensive Italian class) that is two hours once a week.

I’m relatively lucky with my schedule, I don’t ever start before noon. Urban studies is 3-5 (or 15-17 using the 24-hour clock, which I am still adjusting to) on Monday and Wednesday, Modern Italian Art is Tuesdays/Thursdays from 12-2 (12-14). Storia Contemporanea is Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday from 5 to 7 (17-19)…but this ends in 2 weeks so it almost doesn’t count. And then my writing workshop will be on Mondays from 5-7. So, I am basically free Thursdays after 2 until Mondays at 3. Traveling? Obviously.

So far the workload has been basically nothing, although considering I have to read 3 substantial books for Storia Contemporanea, this might not stay the same. But, regardless, Bucknell will be a rude awakening this coming fall.

Okay, I will update soon on something more fun than classes. But here’s for those who wanted to know.


Advertisement



21st February 2010

Classes, huh?
Lauren, its nice to hear that you also do go to classes besides having fun (lol)! While I know you love not having classes before noon, it must be tough to be in class so late consistently? although, it doesn't sound like they are giving you a ton of work outside of class. Maybe you should start reading those books while you have nothing to do -- what a shock it will be when you do -- lovies, Mom

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb