Carnivale!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Cento
February 14th 2010
Published: February 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Bologna a Cento


Although thinking I wanted to go to Venice for Carnivale since I was fifteen--the more I thought about it the more I realized it would not be something I would actually like. I mean, in retrospect it would be cool to say I went to Venice for Carnivale...but in reality I would probably be miserable. I would have to get there by 1 or 2, and I wouldnt leave till the next morning at like 6...and there's no places to stay, and you are crammed onto the island, which is the perfect place for pickpocketers. Not wanting to get pickpocketed, wanting sleep, and not wanting to be around drunken fools for 15 hours, I decided to stay in Bologna Saturday night and go to Cento, a nearby city, on Sunday with a group for the Carnivale festivities there.

So the Italians take float making to a WHOLE new level. The united states is actually almost pitiful in comparison. It's hard to describe them, but that's what photos are for. The floats are epically amazing. Made completely from paper mache and are so detailed and gorgeous and colorful. They're crazy, and sometimes creepy, but are so, so, SO amazing. i keep repeating myself, but look at these photos. I'm not sure photos can do it justice.

Carnivale is great. It's pretty much an excuse to wear pretty masks and throw silly string and confetti at your friends. Not only did i do all of the above--I bought all of the above. A Carnivale mask: 10 euro. Purple silly string: 2.50 euro. 3 bags of confetti: 2 euro. Throwing them at your friends: Priceless. Anyway, besides my poor imitation of a mastercard commercial I had way too much fun throwing silly string and confetti at my friends.

My only goal for Carnivale (since before even getting to Italy) was to get a mask. I love masks. Two of my trips to Italy, before now, I have bought Carnivale-style masks to put on my wall, and this trip I wanted a mask that you could wear. I bought a pink and gold one (I know, pink, of course) for 10 euro, which was great, because that was pretty much the last of my cash. It is so beautiful. I love it. Of course, I didn’t really think about how I would transport this back to the US, but I will figure it out. Because it is so cool.

The main attraction of this Carnivale was the parade of all the floats. It was far more family oritented. We watched the parade and then got gelato—three different flavors for 1.50 euro (it would be wrong NOT to get gelato at that price). I got my three favorites: straticella, fragola (strawberry), and crema di cioccolata. At this point it sort of started to rain, but luckily we were already at the bus stop.

The day was a complete success (and our 15 euro ticket counts as a cultural activity = reimbursement!) and after a sleepy nap on the bus we were back in Bologna.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



20th February 2010

I am so jealou
Lauren, that sounds like such a fun day (without having to deal with all the down side of venice)! I love the mask and I think the floats are very cool but I think they must have been more amazing in reality than the photos show. Ending it wih gelato -- what could be better -- my favorite thing! Love, Mom

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb