Capri and Sorento


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Sorrento
April 23rd 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Trip to Italy


Me on Capri!Me on Capri!Me on Capri!

This was from the top of city looking down on one of the bays.

Trip to Italy
Julie J Vanover
So, after my almost 2 whole days of traveling I arrived in Naples. I traveled 4 hours from Athens to Patras on the train, then had to wait 3 hours for the ferry so I decided to explore Patras a little. Well, they had an old Greek ruin, so headed there up the steep city streets and then climbed 11 flights of stairs with my backpack on in the heat. Ugh, but the view was amazing, I could see all across the bay at the many craggy islands. Then I took a 16 hour ferry ride to Bari Italy which actually was not too bad. I talked to a guy named Peter that I met on the train from Australia. He is a 60 something coal miner that reminded my of my Dad, so it was nice to feel comfortable around someone. Then I slept on the ferry, you could book rooms with a bed but they were pricey, so I settled for my airline seat.

I arrived in Bari, Italy and found out I had to wait for 4 hours for the next train to Naples, so Peter and I hopped on a bus and went to the
The boat around the IslandThe boat around the IslandThe boat around the Island

There were so many little coves and caves that were all so beautiful.
beach in Bari. It was beautiful, the water was so blue and it was such a sunny day. I touched the Adriatic Sea!!! Then I left for my 4 hour bus ride to Naples. I was very wary of Naples becuase there is a very high rate of petty theft )1/3 of the population is unemployed), and Peter and 3 of his friends had their pockets picked on the bus. Originally I was going to see Pompeii and then leave but I met a girl from Hong Kong named Shermaine, who was going to Capri and so I decided to stay an extra day and see Capri.

Capri!!! Wow, it was so amazing. The island jutted up so high and steep out of the sea, and the houses were built all along it in the most wonderful ways. The houses were all whites and blues. Words can not even describe how wonderful this place was. The streets were small and winding with gates everywhere that looked into these beautiful backyards with orange and lemon trees and some of the most beautiful flowers that I have ever seen in my life. We took a boat around the island and saw
Vespa ConventionVespa ConventionVespa Convention

There were hundereds upon hundereds of Vespas for some Vespa holiday at Bari, Italy!
these beautiful coves, cliffs, caves and craggy rocks coming out of a sea so blue that you would think it was not real. I decided that this was my Greek Island since I did not go to Santorini, and even just spending the day there was so wonderful.

After we had seen everything we decided to go back to Naples but the next ferry did not leave for an hour, but there was a ferry leaving for Sorrento in 20 minutes. So we went to Sorrento, another city that jutted out of the sea so beautifully, but different. The city rose up much more sharply than Capri and had more of a tan and red color scheme to it. We headed to the city center to walk around. We ran into a guy named Toni who offered to show us the Cape of Sorento and some Roman ruins. We walked with him and his dog down this old Roman road to the cape and had the most wonderful view of Sorento. We also met a really creepy guy at the cape who really liked Shermaine and I. Italian men are just like Greek men, pushy and icky. So I
CapriCapriCapri

This is just one of a hundred beautiful views on Capri. It was a little hazy so the mountain almost looks dreamy.
have to do the same to Italian men, no eye contact at any time, pretend I am a snob. We took to long to get to the Cape and had to run (literally run) to catch the last ferry of the day to Naples. Aahh what a wonderful day!

We arrived home elated and shared out wonderful day with the other girls in my room. It was really nice because all the girls in my room were solo travelers and we could all share stories and our feelings. It was really what I needed to boost my spirits and give me more confidence in my travels.

PS. My hostel here does not have a USB port so I cannot add the pictures now, but I will in the next day or two. Check them out, they are amazing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

SorentoSorento
Sorento

This is a view of Sorento from high on the hill. Beautiful!


26th April 2007

Cannot wait to see the picts
26th April 2007

Your Beutiful!
The Island of Capri does sound amazing I got some mental pictures going wright now and I want to go ,sounds like a heavenly place ,I cannot wait to see the pictures, I want some freshly squeezed lemonade after reading about the lemon trees yummy!! love you
26th April 2007

God Bless
God bells you, your having a WHALE OF A TIME...ENJOY.
26th April 2007

I am sorry, at my last hostel the internet was 5€ an hour! So I bought one card and barely had enough time in the three days to make all my reservations and stuff. I will be better in the future.
29th April 2007

The pictures are great. You are seeing some beautiful country. We are so happy for you.

Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb