Pompeii


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Pompei
April 24th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0



Untitled
Julie J Vanover
On my way to Pompeii I met a couple from Australia, which it is a good thing I met them otherwise I would have gotten on the wrong train. So I got there and bought my ticket and there was a group looking for English speakers to make their tour cheaper. I said all I could afford was 5€ and so they said that the hostel people only had to pay 5€! So I took a tour of Pompeii, which was very nice. We went to the major sites and say so many wonderful buildings and streets. It was so cool to see the history of the place, all the roads were still functioning roads with functioning drainage systems. Wow! After the tour a lady named Anne was also solo so we headed of to explore more things on our own, and we still did not even see a third of the city. It is huge.

My favorites were the Villa di Misteri which had a bunch of murals, the Terme Stabiane which was the bath house and the Casa del Fauno (House of Fawns). It was so amazing to see the buildings and the way that the city
A statue in one of the wealthy housesA statue in one of the wealthy housesA statue in one of the wealthy houses

This statue was in the middle of the water storage. Everyhouse used the run off water and had a place to store it.
was put together. The guide also told us alot about the Roman History and how things worked there. All in all it was amazing, I thought of the HBO show Rome and how they depicted the cities on the show and I could so see this city as the bustling city that it once was.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

One of the peopleOne of the people
One of the people

This is a plaster cast of a person. When they would find the wholes in the volcanic ash and debris they would pour plaster down it. The people would be decomposed, but their bodies left an impression in the rock.
Ceiling of the Bath HouseCeiling of the Bath House
Ceiling of the Bath House

This is a plaster cast of a person.
The forumThe forum
The forum

This is me, striking a pose in front of the forum with Mount Vesuvius in the background.


28th April 2007

your cute
You go you little pose striker you, and Mt.Vesuvius in the background that is cool, glad you had an amazing time!Love You
29th April 2007

what fun!
Wow what history, just wanted to let you know that we love you and are enjoying your travels. Love, Aunt Jan
29th April 2007

Well, it sure sounds like your days are full, and the pictures are just so awesome!. It's also amazing how many woman your meeting that are also traveling alone, are they mostly from the U.S.?? It sure sounds like your having the time of your life, just don't wear yourself out. Take care Julie. Love Ya..
29th April 2007

I think that women traveling alone just instantly understand each other, so we just know what it' like and support each other. It's been wonderful. And yes, my days are very full. I arrived in Florence today and just decided to do nothing. No sightseeing, just reading and journal writing and let me tell you, I need it. If I am going to make it to the finish line then I need to pace myself.
29th April 2007

It sounds like you are having fun meeting people. We are having fun following you on the map. Wish we were with you. The plaster cast was so interesting. Do they have a lot of them?
30th April 2007

Plaster Casts
There were alot of the plaster casts. I guess that as they were uncovering the city they kept coming up on the empty cavities in the rock. Once they discovered these were human remains they started pouring plaster into the holes. Some of the casts were so detailed that you could see the details on their belts and clothes. It was very cool.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb