Greek Island


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Aegina
April 20th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Island Cruise


Aphrodite, Pan and ErosAphrodite, Pan and ErosAphrodite, Pan and Eros

I just really liked this statue, it shows Pan making advances towards Aphrodite and she's batting him off with her sandal.

Island Cruise
Julie J Vanover
So today, I took a Greek ferry and the good new is it didn't sink! I did a one day excursion to a Greek Island called Aegina. Now it is definitely no Santorini (which is what I really wanted to see but it was just too long of a ferry) but it was cute. There were too different ruins in it, one the Sanctuary of Aphaia had a really nice temple that was quite beautiful. Then I went to the beach and I really wanted to swim in the Mediterranean for the first time, but there were no lockers or anything to put my stuff so I just waded around and walked the beach. There were tons of teenagers on some school trip everywhere!

Yesterday I went to the Archeology Museum here in Athens which was very cool. There were so many statues, frescoes and grave stones that were so beautiful. There was also alot of vases, I like vases but this was alot. In the evening I explored the area of Patras which is an older part of Athens just under the Acropolis that is filled with different shops and restaurants. Then the lights came on to the
Acropolis at NightAcropolis at NightAcropolis at Night

This is the best night picture I got of the Acropolis (minus the stupid street light).
Acropolis so I took some really nice nights shots. I got a blister yesterday which is proving to be a pain, but I will be on the train or a ferry all day and night tomorrow. This should help the blister heal.

Julie



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

VaseVase
Vase

One out of a million vases, this one has nice detail.


21st April 2007

Pictures look post card perfect, excellent job! Don't forget to bandage that heel. As always, We enjoy reading you entries, take care Julie and we love ya.
21st April 2007

I am jealous that you got to got to see the archeology museum I love museums and vases alot, you got to see a greek island very sweet not to many people can say they have done that now you can so cool, also you will now be known as the blistered beuty of europe, sorry I hope it heals soon! Luv Yu.
24th April 2007

Petra
I'm going to stop asking why you're still there. Sounds like... good times :) BTW you were in Petra(s). But if you took those pictures from Patra(s)... I want that camera!!! (215km from Athens) Will you post pictures of the dirty streets already?
25th April 2007

Julie.... Where are you??? haven't heard from you for some time now.... Hope everything is well for you and that you are having the time of your life!! Melissa is now in Hawaii, hopefully having the time of her life. I realize that you are somewhere without internet access, and I hope this finds you safe, warm and happy!! Love Ya
25th April 2007

How's the food?
Hey Girl!! We miss you lots. How is the cuisine? What is it like? Anything you really like or dislike? ~Lee
25th April 2007

Fun Fun Fun! And sorry I didn't warn you, but everybody gets a blister in Europe. Glad you're having fun! I love the night pic of the Acropolis! I'd love to go there! As for the streetlamps, that's what photoshop is for =) Love ya - Tyson
26th April 2007

Ugh! I am kicking myself in the butt right now for just not taking my shoes for crews. As dorky as they are I can walk in them forever. I think that I may have to buy a new pair of shoes.
26th April 2007

The food has been wonderful. I am eating cheap, so I have been doing alot of delis and stuff, but so good. Pizza in Naples, mousaka in Athens, baklava in Patras, Gelato in Rome! Hhmm.. but it has been really hot so I have not had a huge appetite.

Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0989s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb