A day in the Sun in Sorrento


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Sorrento
September 17th 2018
Published: September 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

My only aim today was to find a beachside place where I could hire a chair and have a swim. After my breakfast at the hotel I decided to walk to the Marina Grande - this is a smaller, more historic marina which Chiara from the hotel had told me about. It was only a fifteen minute walk but I stopped for some photos along the way. It really was a beautiful area and not as hectic as the main marina and beach area. I choose a place that had a long jetty and hired a sun lounge for €10 - much cheaper than anywhere else I have been. It was a really nice place too with good stairs down to the water which made it easy for getting in and out of the sea. Not much more to say as for the next few hours I just enjoyed the sun, swam whenever I felt like it and listened to my podcasts.

About 3:30 I decided to pack up and head to find somewhere for lunch. A lot of the restaurants in this area were closed as they were preparing for the dinner service but I found a little Trattoria right on the beach, that was still serving lunch. I ordered the spaghetti mixta al mare with a insalada mixta as well as a beer. Everything was really delicious! The pasta had mussels, clams, octopus and prawns and was cooked in a shellfish sauce of some kind. I realised that this will be my last proper Italian meal as I won't be having dinner and tomorrow I leave for Malta. Good to finish on a high after last nights meal.

I then tackled all the stairs back up to the top of the town and walked back to my apartment to shower amd just relax.

Around 8:30 I headed out for a walk around the town. Found a nice spot to sit, have an Aperol Spritz and people watch. Very entertaining ☺️


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb