Not actually in Naples, more like Sorrento


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Pompei
May 10th 2005
Published: May 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey there, I figured I'd be smart this time and not leave posting an entry till the last few minutes of my internet time, and then get kicked off before I can post it. As you may have guessed, I'm still in Italy. I've enjoyed Rome for 5 days, and now I've been in Sorrento for 3. Rome was crazy, but awesome. I took two walking tours because I'm a dunce when it comes to understanding what I'm looking at. The first one covered most of the 'famous' sites, like the Colosseum, the Palantine and Roman Forum, the Pantheon, Trevi fountain, Piazza Venezia, Piazza Nuova, and Piazza Navona. The second one I did was for the old Jewish ghetto area and Trastevere, which is across the Tiber river. That one was really interesting more for the history, as opposed to the actual sites. I also did the typical Vatican visit. It was crazy long line ups, and people were packed into the museums, which really sucked. I didn't really feel like I appreciated anything, but I did see the Sistine Chapel, so that's something. The other thing I did in Rome was visit an aqueduct outside the city and the San Bernardo catacombs. Too bad there aren't any actual bodies that you can see there anymore. I caught a really bad cold in Rome also, so I had fun saying 'Ho il raffredore' to an Italian pharmacist, who gave me what I thought was a nasal spray, but turned out to be yummy tasting effervescent tablets that you dissolve in water and drink. After that, I came to Sorrento. I was going to go to Naples, but after Rome, I was tired of crazy city drivers. At least here in Sorrento, they slow down for you to cross the road. The past couple of days I've just taken it easy. I visited the so-called beach, which is a tiny sandy area in the shade of the cliffs. For the good sunny parts, you have to pay 5 euro for the privilege. Limoncello liquor is really big in this town also. I visited a lemon grove right in the middle of the town, and bought some limoncello. As a bonus gift or something, I got a free giant lemon. I'm not entirely sure what to do with it, as I leave tomorrow for Bari to take the ferry to Croatia. And lemon doesn't really go well on most pizzas. Anyways, my cold feels better, so that's good. After Croatia, I take the ferry back to Italy and go to Venice. Then off to Switzerland to meet up with a friend I met while in Nice. Hope everything is going well in Edmonton! PS...my Hotmail account is screwed and is sending email from my contacts to the trash bin. I can still read them there, but if you've emailed me in the past while and wondered why I haven't responded, then that's why. Now that I've realized this, hopefully I won't miss anymore, but technically the trash bin is emptied every day. This doesn't seem to be happening at the moment, though. Anyways, keep trying to email, or contact me if you want through this blogging site. TTYL!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb