It's Friday, so that means...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Apulia » Brindisi
September 15th 2006
Published: September 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

One way signsOne way signsOne way signs

note the one way signs on the corner of our apartment. This place is a labyrinth to drive around in...
it is time for another fabulous meal. I'm still not quite caught up with my correspondence and so I've not submitted any reviews on the restaurants we have visited. I have, however, kept notes on those places. There will be a lengthy post sooner or later. I will be taking photos of the restaurant tonight. Our school secretary will be with us and that place belongs to her uncle. I expect red carpet treatment!
Meanwhile here are some more photos that I have taken. They are photos of the neighborhood that we see on the way to work. And photos of our little school. We are on an Italian military post and it is a somewhat difficult political issue to discuss. Suffice it to say that it is better that the less I say anything about it, the better it will be. In private correspondence, I can explain this to you my friends.
Nonethless, you can get a feel for what this part of Brindisi looks like. You will notice that the streets are somewhat deserted. It was a Sunday morning and we were headed to school to do a little catching up.
We are planning on gong to visit the
Locks everywhereLocks everywhereLocks everywhere

Virtually everything is walled in...and locked.
town of Oria tomorrow. There is a festival going on there that involves flag throwing and medieval costumes, plus our school is taking a field trip there next week. It should be fun and I will post photos on that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Little parkLittle park
Little park

across the street...
One othe routesOne othe routes
One othe routes

we take to work.
Nice CondoNice Condo
Nice Condo

One of the reasons that the locals think this is the "Hollywood Hills" of Brindisi.
Narrow streetNarrow street
Narrow street

Yet people tear through these streets and honk as they approach the corners...fair warning I suppose.
Business districtBusiness district
Business district

Some have signs indicating a business and others have no sign, no hours of operation, no indication that a business even exists there...amazing.
Funeral announcementsFuneral announcements
Funeral announcements

This an interesting custom throughout Italy to have a place where funerals announcements are posted.
Mariner monumentMariner monument
Mariner monument

I forgot to take my camera when I climbed this monument...it is a great view of all of Brindisi...I will remember to do so the next time.
Almost thereAlmost there
Almost there

we take a left at the end of this street and then turn into the gate.
Our schoolOur school
Our school

not very big.
Our playgroundOur playground
Our playground

not very big either and completely walled and fenced in...
WalkwayWalkway
Walkway

behind the playground...we are right next to the water (bay).
Down this streetDown this street
Down this street

we are about a 15 minute walk from work...I really like that!
My classroomMy classroom
My classroom

three desks and six students...
Beth's classroomBeth's classroom
Beth's classroom

three desks and seven students...
Beth's officeBeth's office
Beth's office

It was supposed to be a shared office but we have different organizational habits...so I make do in my room.


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb