Photos!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Apulia » Brindisi
September 12th 2006
Published: September 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our classic Italian motherOur classic Italian motherOur classic Italian mother

This is our landlord's mom.
Hello All!
Circumstances have conspired to get in the way of serious blogging. Living here is labor intensive. How so? There are washing machines but no dryers. The wash cycles appear to last at least three hours, or perhaps it just feels like that since it seems to last forever. Then one has to hang clothes to dry and in this humid climate it takes a while. There are little handy stores 2-3 minutes from the apartment but are not open all day and closed on Sundays. There are open air markets that could supply some of the items we need but only open during the time we are at work. If you want to go to a good restaurant you have to wait until at least 8PM. In short, it requires planning and effort to try and get things done in an efficient manner. It is pointless to get excited about these things; I've just learned to give the characteristic Italian shrug.
Still, there are some very delightful surprises that make life fairly sweet. We hired a cleaning lady who is a close friend of the family that owns the building. She cleans the apartment once a week for 21
Inside the apartmentInside the apartmentInside the apartment

the interior othe guest room
euro and does a fantastic job. Also, the mother of the landlord lives above us and she is sweet. Recently I met one of her grandsons and his girlfriend. While we were visiting, I happened to mention that my dad was elderly and that my mother was deceased. I jokingly said that perhaps she could be my Italian mother. So to date, she has dropped off a "dolci" (a dessert platter of goodies), hemmed a couple of pairs of pants that I bought, brought us fresh veggies and fruit from a small farm that the family owns, helped the cleaning lady by doing our wash and ironing our clothes! She has also directed us where to go to get things done. Her son referred to her as a "problem solver." Indeed! She has been extremely helpful. She is quite happy that she and I can talk with each other unlike the previous tenants who didn't speak a word of Italian. I can now understand why a lot of Italian men are reluctant to leave "la mamma." They really dote on their children.
It is hard to believe that we have been here a month. The first couple of weeks were
Inside the apartmentInside the apartmentInside the apartment

the interior of the guest room
a whirlwind of activity trying to get the dog problem taken care of and other essential services. The next couple of weeks were spent trying to find our way around and prepare for school. lowly but surely life is starting to fall into a comfortable routine. I finally took some photos and am going to try and post them on this entry. Keep your fingers crossed...there is supposed to be a link to manage photos but I don't see it on this page.
Anyway the photos are of the apartment, some of the neighborhood, and of a festival that was held here this weekend. I intend to climb to the top of a monument close by that gives me a good aerial view of Brindisi. I've also been to some restaurants and want to report on those dining experiences. Beth and I plan to travel this weekend to the town of Oria. There is some festival going on there that should be interesting to see. I will take photos of that. I also have a tremendous amount of mail that I want to get out to friends. I will get to it sooner or later.
Well ci vidiamo...we'll be seeing
master bedroommaster bedroommaster bedroom

different views
each other!
Israel
Ok...I hope that the photos appear because it was a slow and tedious process. I've only posted pics of the apartment as it is getting late. More photos to follow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

master bedroommaster bedroom
master bedroom

different views
master bedroommaster bedroom
master bedroom

different views
inside the apartmentinside the apartment
inside the apartment

our little office
inside the apartmentinside the apartment
inside the apartment

our little office
inside the apartmentinside the apartment
inside the apartment

the livingroom
inside the apartmentinside the apartment
inside the apartment

the livingroom
inside the apartmentinside the apartment
inside the apartment

the dining area is also in the livingroom
inside the apartmentinside the apartment
inside the apartment

the kitchen with small utility room
inside the apartmentinside the apartment
inside the apartment

the kitchen with small utility room
inside the apartmentinside the apartment
inside the apartment

the kitchen with small utility room
outside the apartmentoutside the apartment
outside the apartment

The "yard" or "garden"
outside the apartmentoutside the apartment
outside the apartment

The \"yard\" or \"garden\"
outside the apartmentoutside the apartment
outside the apartment

The "yard" or "garden"
outside the apartmentoutside the apartment
outside the apartment

The \"yard\" or \"garden\"
outside the apartmentoutside the apartment
outside the apartment

The \\\"yard\\\" or \\\"garden\\\"


12th September 2006

Cute pants
Wow, I have some just like them! The Manolo would probably agree with the European sentiment that short pants are for children, so when its too hot for long pants, this is the obvious fashion choice. I also live by this philosophy.
13th September 2006

Would never imagine...
my dad wearing those kind of pants :) Looking good, dad! :)
13th September 2006

Muy Italiano!!!
Quien es mas macho? I didn't take long to adjust to them. They make a lot of sense in this warm humid climate. I find it difficult to wear t-shirts because then I feel clammy and unable to breathe. One needs to wear lots of cotton and linen so as to allow evaparation to cool the body. I used to hate wind but now look forward to any breeze that comes my way.
13th September 2006

Kindred spirits
The Judy and I are kindred spirits! The Judy undoubtedly has the critical eye for style and fashion. The Manolo would be hard pressed to ever find her unworthy of his critical praise. I, personally, have yet to find any instance of a fashion crime or misdemeanor on her part.
13th September 2006

Muy Italiano!!! (clarification)
The t-shirt comment was a bit confusing. I meant to say I am hard pressed to wear a t-shirt underneath my regular shirts as per my regular habit. Wearing two layers is entirely too warm and results in a clammy feeling and being unable to cool off.
13th September 2006

Clam what?
Hey the apartment house looks a lot like southern CA. It looks a lot nicer than what I expected. Very comfortable. Funny how when you speak of the required trials of getting a simple task completed, I feel my blood presure going up. Speaking of Southern CA, my million dollar idea is to open up a Home Depot there. I Think that will help both yours and my blood presure, while making us a lot of money at the same time. Despite these frustrations it sounds like you and Beth are acclimating well..... maybe a bit to well on your part. CLAM WHAT? In the states thoughs are called HIGH WATERS! Typically worn only by thoughs who have no dilusions of adequacy. Its virtually impossible for them to have any kind of dilusion of adequacy, because their awareness most often never goes beyond their pocket protectors. I know it seems, I am taking a hardline here. I am not, because I am in complete agreement with, When in Rome do as ... At the same time, I promise not to share thoughs pictures to anyone else you know, particular thoughs in the "A" team. Take care Wes Your to funny....or....maybe I am to funny. No your to funny
14th September 2006

Funny is as funny does...
I really have taken a shine to the long cut-offs. With a bandanna on my head, possibly an eye patch...aarrr matey...I could be a pirate! Yes, you are correct; the apartment is quite nice. And reasonably priced by US standards. We are very close to the water and in the nicer part of town. In any other seaside community that apartment would be quite expensive. And we couldn't afford a housekeeper. I will be posting nieghborhood and town photos in the next day or two. Doesn't our landlord's mother remind you of Aunt Bea from the old sitcom The Andy Griffith Show - the best sitcom ever in my opinion. Your friend, Opie
16th September 2006

Great sharing......
and keeping up... Thanks and glad you seem to be adapting.... tried to call - several times - finally got through - only to get a busy signal - likely you were up to this!! Try again later - after the festival? Anyhoo; guess who has decided to spend the evening in the van - in the garage? Guess he wants to be there if I decide to go somewhere ......... has been a bit reluctant until I took him for hours Wednesday - Dr. Whites; Vets to ask about a Boise license; Patrick's football game - where several made him feel as if he might be king....... can't wait to check now and get his "look" when I turn on the light in the garage!! Yea, we're getting along..... Peace n Love - with Joy included, MA

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb