Sunrise


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Apulia » Brindisi
April 15th 2005
Published: June 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Woke up to the sun rising over the Aegean sea. After having made the life-changing discovery that the train seats pulled out into a bed of sorts, I slept reasonably well, in spite of our cabin-mate's uproarious snores. I've realized that it has been a while since I was actually up before the sun, and now want to watch the sunrise more often. I miss a bit my early morning bike rides to work last summer along the bay in Kona.
...
We got into Brindisi and after some effort are now at the ferry port. We were herded into a white van by a few nominally official-looking men that spoke three words of English between them and didn't even attempt italian and were taken for a joy ride through the boonies. I half expected the van to stop at any likely-looking clump of bushes and for our helpful drivers to politely rob us blind. However, they deposited us safely at the check-in office, and my faith in humanity was restored somewhat.
...
Ferry trip fine - Corfu is gorgeous. Learned how to say thank you: efkarishto. Woohoo. I'm kind of left without words by this place. I feel like I'm
The Bella VistaThe Bella VistaThe Bella Vista

If you're in Corfu...
dreaming, actually. After the broken sleep and the five hour ferry ride, we're here! Picked up at the port by Andrea and treated to a lovely drive through the island. Then we arrived at the hotel and were amazed into giddiness by how nice it is. We're overlooking a little crescent bay and craggy green cliffs, and our room is complete with a balcony with the same view. The lovely Sofia informed us that we were the first guests of the season - we are consequently being treated like royalty. Coffee to welcome us as we watched the sunset from the dining room, a wonderful meal cooked by Andreas, the handyman-driver-chef-bartender etc etc and coffee genie (more on this later) and to top it all off post-dinner ouzo (a Greek licorice flavored liqueur many of you will remember from My Big Fat Greek Wedding) on the house. I am floating on a cloud. This will be the perfect ending to our adventures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb