Guinness is Good for You


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
July 28th 2004
Published: July 28th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Good for YouGood for YouGood for You

Guinness is Good for You is the slogan of this brew. But, this isn't my favorite saying from the tour ...
When I arrived in Dublin, I knew exactly what I wanted to see and I wouldn't leave Dublin without seeing it. Guinness Brewery at St. Jame's Gate. This incredible Guinness brew is known the world over as the best stout you can get your hands on. In the surrounding area, one can breathe in the signature Guinness smell. It's nearly inescapable. The storehouse which was created about 4 years ago walks visitors through the entire brewing process. Plus, you get to quench your thirst with a free pint of Guinness at the Gravity Bar seven floors up. What a deal!


The first full day I was in the city of Dublin, I took a walking tour through Temple Bar. This area is full of pubs, restaurants, shops and hotels/hostels. Its bohemian nature reminds me of Camden Town in London, but with a little more sophistication. Our guide was informative and fun ... he knew quite a bit about the area. I thought what was most interesting is that Handel's Messiah was first performed at the edge of Temple Bar. There's a beautiful statue commemorating the occasion. Also, the name Dublin comes from Dublinia which means blackpool. The Vikings gave the
city its name when they arrived on the shore of the Liffey by a blackpool.


Today, I took in the historic Trinity College, where I saw the Book of Kells and the Long Library. It is quite an incredible campus. The Book of Kells, a monastic book of the gospels from 800 AD, housed in the Long Library was a little overrated. However, the Long Library (I think he said it was 65 meters in length) was worth seeing. Some of the oldest manuscripts are shelved here beneath a dark wood, arched ceiling. Incredible! Students are allowed to peruse these books only with permission (with a very good reason) and supervision.


This weekend, I head to Northern Ireland to see Belfast and the Giant's Causeway. It should be a fun trip!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb