Go West Meath!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
July 25th 2004
Published: July 25th 2004
Edit Blog Post

The GAA Stadium after the winThe GAA Stadium after the winThe GAA Stadium after the win

West Meath wins and the entire stadium rushes the field.
Go West Meath! Yesterday, I attended my first Gaelic football match. It was West Meath vs. Laois. What an entertaining game to watch! It's a mix between several different sports and it's quite a brutal game. Someone got injured every few plays. Fortunately, West Meath came away with the victory. They've never won the province finals ... so it was a huge win! Gus' brother lives in West Meath, so he got us tickets. Thank you!
And, earlier in the day, I had a blast on the Shannon River. Several of Gus' family members met up to go waterskiing and wakeboarding on the Shannon River. It wasn't a sunny or warm day, but it didn't make any difference. We jumped in all the same to give it a go (with full wet suits of course!). After everyone else had their turn, it was down to me. Since I had learned to waterski when I lived in the LAnd of 10,000 lakes, I gave the wakeboard a go. What a blast! But, boy do I hurt from it. I'm aching like crazy! Though, it was totally worth it! Now, I've made my way to Dublin for the next few days. It should be fun ... and I hope there will be a little sun.

Advertisement



25th July 2004

Ireland is Great!
It looks like you are having a wonderful time! I've always heard that the island is the world's greenest. Now I know it is true. All's well here. Aut Gail, Mellisa and Alexis send their love. They shopped till they dropped at Concord Mills. Luv ya! Dad
18th October 2004

Up westmeath
Great to see you enjoyed watching Westmeath winning their first ever Leinster title. I'm from Athlone and am currently looking at travelblog as I'm heading to Australia and NZ and then I came across your site!
8th March 2006

Up Laois
Hello Jenny, Im from Laois and I watched that game in Bruge in Belgium with a stag party from Holland. I was the only Irish person in the bar. It was great fun. I had to explain all the rules to the Dutch guys and had them all shouting for Laois... Unfortunately Laois lost but sure I got free drink all night anyway... glad you enjoyed our national sport

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb