Welcome To Ireland!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
October 3rd 2006
Published: October 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I went to Ireland many years ago but found some of my old travel journals and wanted to put them online so I wouldnt lose them...
I was with a youth group that year and we stayed in Dublin I believe which was the most beautiful place I've ever seen. Our hostel was ten miles down a dirt road far outside the city and right next to it was a hidden monastary. Some of the tombstones dated back to 1020 and the belltower and buildings were quite dilapidated as one can imagine! It really struck me to see buildings that old and historic not fenced off to the public. Instead our group took many a walk down and around the ruins in the mornings. In the United States anything fifty years old they mark historic and charge addmission but in a country with such a rich and long history places like these are more common and therfore free! As my first trip abroad from the United State (I live in Atlanta, GA), several things struck me right off. First, all the street signs were also translated into Galic even though no one appeared to speak it where we were. Our group went to Little Chefs, a fast food resturant right off the plane, and I remember getting a small glass of soda which a downed immediatly and then was told there were no free refills. Growing up in the American Deep South this idea had never occured to me! The people in Dublin were exceedingly friendly and interested in travels and life back home which was refreshing. My friend did offend someone when asking what the soccer score was however, which I found hilarious. All together it made for a very brief but enjoyable jaunt in Ireland. Off to Wales!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb