Derry City baby!!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
September 18th 2008
Published: September 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Alright I didn't get a chance to write a blog on here for Dublin....but I'll try and add that later...here's one for Derry!!
So Sarah and I are in Northern Ireland now! YEY!! One of my absolute favorite places. We arrived yesterday at around 2pm after an extremely interesting bus ride and me almost getting eaten by a pigeon...yes...let me explain...So my luggage is heavy...my backpack is ok but my duffle bag is the weight of a fat midget...and it lacks wheels...so the bus station was very far from our hostel in Dublin. If you can imagine I felt like I was going to die. When we finally made it to the bus station I saw a pigeon that was hobbling around in the lobby leading into the station...it had a nub/peg leg...so I start yelling "YAY PIGEON YAY!!!!"...well I don't think Mr.Pigeon liked that because the bastard flipped out and started flying toward me to go out of the door...so my Yay Pigeons turned into OH SHITs...luckily both the pigeon and I made it out of the ordeal alive. Surprisingly the bus ride although around the 3 hour mark...was fun. I fell asleep despite my eagerness to see all of the sheep and hills. When the bus stopped for a break I woke up and mumbled to Sarah how I was sorry and wanted her to the see the cows...I kind of speak random gibberish when I'm tired. So we finally get to Derry and start our LONNNGGGGG trek to the hostel. Let me just say that at home..on the map...it really didn't look so far away. And of course when we asked the Irish for directions....they said "oh...just down the street there." Right...well us being us....didn't believe them so we went the OTHER way...the long way...After climbing up a mountain of hill...I mean this was straight vertical...I was like forget this...and sat down...where we then came upon a nice lady and asked her for directions..."Yer quite a ways off walking. I can give ya a lift though. Makes me think of me own daughter when she went ta Europe. C'mon I'll help yas out." So because she was really awesome and whatnot we went with her. Of course don't try this at home..because that nice person would probably be a rapist. She gave us a nice commentary on the Free Derry Wall and the murals...this was the trip I wanted...I wanted to see Ireland through the eyes of the Irish and that's what it's been since we've gotten here. The hostel we're staying at is grand. It's seperate from the main building because we have a private room. I'm on the hostel's computer because my adapter crapped out..LAME! Anyway...when we got to the hostel finallly...Sarah realized her wallet was gone! So once we dropped all of our crap in our room we went in search for her wallet...and let me say...finding a lost item was never more fun. It turns out someone turned it into the "lost parcel" office at the bus station...which would never happen at home. When we went to the office Sarah was soooo happy that they had it. There were two men there and a woman. So the one man goes "Ah yer so happy ye got it back, give the man a kiss for thanks!!"...so Sarah kissed the guy on the cheek behind the counter. And me..I'm just standing there in the doorway laughing....so the guy says to me "Now you kiss 'im!!" so I did. Mind you the girl standing behind the man behind the counter was his girlfriend and thought the whole situation was hilarious...which it was. Gotta love the Irish. So after all that we went on an adventure around the city. We walked atop the city walls and took grand pictures of the sun setting. The city is so wonderful...more like a town than anything. The people are nice of course and very eager to talk. I made quite a few friends and had interesting conversations. We even came upon a football game while we were walking on the walls. Two gorgeous men were sitting watching younger boys playing and they waved up to us. When one of the boys kicked the ball into the street another one of the boys decided to kick him. Over all the whole day was wonderful...dispite it's misshaps...I'll write again soon...and remember if you ever get the chance...come to Derry...it's absolutely magical....

Advertisement



18th September 2008

Sounds great
...enjoy, and don't go kissin' all the guys!!

Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb