The City in the Park


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
July 14th 2005
Published: July 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

You know when something's coming to a close....you can feel the anticlimactic buzz in the air....yep, it's starting to creep up on me....the thought of leaving an island of which I've become so utterly amazed by. I thought I'd nickname Cork 'the city in the park' - that's what it's like here...you go anywhere and you're surrounded by overgrown bushes, trees, flowers, etc....it's just so fresh and alive....when they say it's green, it is seriously GREEN. No wonder they are associated with that color.....you go just beyond the houses on any outskirt of any town/village/city and it's like you've walked into a park....even the roads remind me of a bike path cutting through a park. Also, I'm a bit afraid of coming back to the US...I'm afraid I may be too "friendly" (sounds crazy right)...but everyone here greets each other, and not just a smile or a wave...I mean, they actually talk to one another....like people should do....makes me think how cold and anti-social america has grown to be. I met an Irish man here who had just been living in the US for years and he said he was so happy to be back in Ireland....he was saying how he could never get used to going through a supermarket, checking out and getting home without anybody greeting him...he said lots of his irish friends living in america lost their sense of humor....jeez, I can only defend the US so much until I'm like....man, you're right. But I guess I'll come back and do my part to change the world.....and hell, there's no use telling any of you who read this, cos we ARE the good people....lol.
Crazy about London huh? Won't even waste my breath on the nastiness our world faces....
Anyway I may go on one last hoorah before I go....a bit of a roadtrip....i'd say I've seen more of Ireland than most Irish people...I count myself fortunate for that!!!!! Back to the gem--Connemara perhaps....a cute town called Leenane beckons me....don't know why...? not much there but..... Or might look for some festivals going on round the country...wouldn't mind getting north to Donegal again too.....
Well, tentatively I have 10 days left....but I am in the process of getting an extension or dropping back in Holland on my way back....Can't wait to see everyone....esp my little nephew, Gavin, who must have grown up so much by now....
Will post some photos later.....XXX
ha ha frank sinatra singing New York, New York on the radio.....ahhhh, me beloved america

Advertisement



16th July 2005

Frank
Great, now I have NewYork, NewYork stuck in my head..;'p
25th July 2005

where did she go?
wow i just had a look at a map of where youve been, that is so far away.. how are we even supposed to spy on your whereabouts if you dont travel blog for us rox.. last thing saw you leaving ireland maybe for holland maybe for home, talk about leaving us hanging. atleast turn your phone back on so we can track ya by GPS!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb