Ireland according to Amber


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
November 20th 2006
Published: November 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all! It's my turn to tell you tales of our travels! Firstly, we are all exhausted.... we missed a whole nights sleep on the way over and when we finally hit the sheets on the 14th it was for about 6 hrs. Until last night, every nights sleep has been about that long... and Mom, you know how cranky I can get with no sleep! 😊 It's been a lot of fun despite sleep deprivation. We sent Melanie off to her travels on the 16th and hope to see her again some day... preferably not on a 'missing' poster.

Ok, some fun anecdotes. Here in Kilkenny we discovered something interesting. Starving the first night here, we headed out for some good ole traditional Irish grub. We read that the pubs were the best place to sit and eat a bowl of traditional stew for cheap. Little did we know, these simple pubs have a dress code... you have to wear fancy shoes! We walked for a while until one nice 'host' let us slip in.

I also didn't know that the Irish refer to the Gaelic language as speaking Irish. The toilets here are weird, you have to flush two to three times to make it do anything! Some restrooms (though don't ask for a restroom, you will just get stared at)have two buttons, one for a super flush!

Well, that's all for now. I'll try to steal the computer from Brandon a couple more times to give you guys another perspective! Sorry I haven't written you back Aunt TC, I haven't had time, but Hello to you, Uncle Danny and Tanner! I'm happy you made it onto the site!

Advertisement



20th November 2006

Identify yourself
Amber, I didn't realize I wasn't reading Brandon's blog until the very end! You should start by explaining that you're entering an entree into his journal! Anyway, sounds like you're having fun. "Super flush"?!
20th November 2006

Kittens
I forgot to tell you, your kittens are fine. We felt sorry for them and let them sleep in the room with us. No more. They about drove us crazy till we (I) kicked them out. Your trip really sounds fun. I love the blog. Weird name, blog, but great concept. Love ya!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb